We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Different”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Railway Station
Ranked #1 of 17 Petworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

stayed here for a weekend. Quite isolated, therefore nice and quiet. Accommodation was exquisite. Comfortable bed, everywhere clean, lots of choice in tea and coffees and a full sized kettle. The breakfast in the morning was enough to set you up for the day. Full English with proper teapots. This was served in what was the waiting room. Again staff very friendly and helpful.
Very handy for Goodwood and Chichester, in fact there are lots of places to visit all within reach.

Room Tip: All excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattiann139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 585 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

A unique place to stay if you are looking for a quiet isolated break, we stayed in one of the Pullman coaches which was very comfortable and stylish. The Hosts were very attentive and the breakfasts were the best I have ever experienced in any hotel. Warm open fire in the main station house with wonderful cream teas and lots of interesting memorabilia. Great pub just around the corner serving fine food and beers. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: definately try the cream tea and have dinner in The Badgers pub 5 mins walk away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

It like going back in time totally enjoyed the experience it was a birthday present for my partner she actually cried she loved it so much one I may do again would recomend to any one this was recommended to me by a friend and I'm going to recommend to another friend

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ted l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

if you want something original stay here. to sleep on a 1890 carriage in 5 star comfort. the old waiting room they offer you afternoon tea when you come in and there is a wonderful pub next door. the staff are friendly and i have booked again to come to experience the beautiful countrside

Room Tip: have a carriage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomiller1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a wonderful fun atmospheric experience for those with the imagination to enjoy staying on a stationary train at the platform or in the charming station building. We have stayed quite a number of times and always enjoyed it. The old waiting room/ticket office makes a delightful lounge and breakfast room. There are plenty of interesting pictures of the old station and various books and publications to read whilst relaxing. If the weather is good you can also sit out on the platform. Breakfast is reliably excellent and has always been cheerfully served. I have no hesitation when recommending The Old Railway Station to friends who would enjoy this unusual place to stay. We will stay again, probably many times.

Room Tip: Stay in the station house or the carriages they are both great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have just returned from a wonderful stay at The Old Railway station.
This was my second visit, and the experience was as good as the first, which was 2 years ago.
This is an amazing place to stay, and the Pullmans have been sympathetically restored to a
very high standard, depicting the bygone days perfectly.
The bed was also comfortable with very high quality bedding and furnishings.
It was my friends 60th, and 8 of us had booked as a surprise, so it was lovely to have champagne and canapés in one of the Pullmans before going out for dinner.
The following day a sumptuous breakfast was served in the old waiting room.
This venue is very quirky, and an excellent place to stay for a special occasion.
Special thanks to Gudmund and his staff for sharing this wonderful place with us.
We can't wait to do a return trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perryoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have just returned from a stay at the old railway, the rooms are beautiful and the transformation of the trains to rooms are amazing. Staff are very friendly and we're helpful at all times. Will definitely be back maybe in the summer as the surroundings are amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coughcandy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petworth
2.6 mi away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fittleworth
182 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
526 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
152 reviews
2 mi away
The Stonemasons Inn
The Stonemasons Inn
#5 of 17 in Petworth
84 reviews
3 mi away
The Halfway Bridge
The Halfway Bridge
#3 of 17 in Petworth
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Railway Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Railway Station

Address: The Old Station Station Road | West Sussex, Petworth GU28 0JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Petworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Petworth
Price Range: $199 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Railway Station 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely acclaimed as Britain's most beautiful railway station, Petworth's former train station is now one of the country's most unusual destination hotels. Step back in time and enjoy a romantic and unique break in one of our restored Pullman railway carriages or stay in the old Station House. In summer, enjoy our fine breakfast on the platform, overlooking our exotic garden or, in winter, by a roaring fire in our former Waiting Room, with its 20ft vaulted ceiling.The Old Railway Station has something for every discerning traveller, looking for something different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Railway Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Railway Station Hotel Petworth
Old Railway Station
The Old Railway Station Petworth, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing