We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Venue for a special occasion” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leconfield

The Leconfield
Ranked #4 of 25 Restaurants in Petworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $61
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Leconfield restaurant and bar is nestled in the heart of Petworth. Head chef Paul Welburn has brought his Michelin star cooking to the countryside.
Petworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Venue for a special occasion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife chose The Leconfield for a 'special birthday' celebration dinner for me with a group of close friends and the eleven of us were entertained in one of its upstairs private dining areas, featuring a small reception lounge and private dining area. We chose widely from the main restaurant menu and everyone commented on the exceptional quality of the food across the board: both meat and fish dishes were excellent as to quality, quantity and presentation. Our wine selection perfectly matched our food.
Service from our dedicated waitress and the general ambiance were charming and absolutely suited to the occasion, with the unobtrusive but ever-present oversight of the Manager, Richard, adding to the feeling that we were welcome and appreciated guests. Not a cheap evening, but no complaints about value for money in every facet of our Leconfield experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seajack2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Leconfield, Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback on your dining experience at The Leconfield.
We are glad that your party had an enjoyable evening and that all aspects of food and service were exceptional.
We always want to keep exceptional and high standards at The Leconfield to ensure a great experience and would love to see you back enjoying a meal at the restaurant again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    57
    32
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Great restaurant with a good atmosphere! Lovely decor, very warm and stylish. Had three courses of delicious food. I really enjoyed my meal here. A great place to go with your partner. A little bit pricey but worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SashaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Leconfield, Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback on your dining experience at The Leconfield.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your evening and hope to see you dine with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value/quality meal mid week in the country!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Good selection on the set menu. My husband didn't make such a good choice on the a la carte and it was disappointing and a little dull - chicken dish. SImple wine menu but well priced, so all in all, well priced meal (£100 with wine) for better than average food but not approaching Michelin star quality. Lovely ambience and pretty place. Service excellent when not busy but something went wrong at the end of our meal and I waited ages, too long, for dessert. Rather spoiled it. Would recommend all in all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fi20b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Leconfield, Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your dining experience at The Leconfield.
We have passed on the comments about the chicken dish to the kitchen as we take our customer feedback seriously and want to adapt and ensure that our customers are satisfied.
Sorry that you had to wait on the arrival of your desserts, this isn't a regular occurrence and we try to always keep to timings with every table even on busy shifts.
We appreciate very much that you would recommend us and hope to see you dine with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

On a wet miserable night it was a delight to be so warmly welcomed and ushered to the comfortable bar area. The manager came and introduced himself which was a lovely touch and we were made to feel special. Food was superb and full of subtle flavour with stylish presentation. The only thing they may be able to improve on would be my pet subject of offering more choice of cheese selection.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Leconfield, Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your dining experience at The Leconfield.
We are pleased to hear that you were so warmly welcomed by our front of house staff and that you were made to feel special.
We always want all of our customers to feel that an extra effort is made to ensure they feel special and are glad you recognised this.
We are sorry you felt that the cheese selection wasn't broad enough and have passed on these comments to our kitchen.
We hope to see you dine with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florakaty
Level Contributor
134 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Haven't been back mainly due to the flippancy of the staff. Guests were not greeted nor seated. Made several mistakes with our order. Poor chef must have been angry. When we left staff were too busy chatting to bother to acknowledge our departure. Maybe they were glad to see the back of us. The sad thing is, I was making notes for a friend who wanted to take over the whole place for a big party. We went elsewhere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank florakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Leconfield, Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your dining experience at The Leconfield.
We are sorry that your experience wasn't a positive one and that our service was not up to standard on the day that you dined with us.
We always want to maintain high standards of service and are sorry that you did not experience this.
We would be glad to have you dine with us again soon and promise we can turn your current view into a positive view of the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Leconfield also viewed

Petworth, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
 

Been to The Leconfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing