We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”
Review of The Leconfield

The Leconfield
Ranked #7 of 23 Restaurants in Petworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $65
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Leconfield restaurant and bar is nestled in the heart of Petworth. Head chef Paul Welburn has brought his Michelin star cooking to the countryside.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Haven't been back mainly due to the flippancy of the staff. Guests were not greeted nor seated. Made several mistakes with our order. Poor chef must have been angry. When we left staff were too busy chatting to bother to acknowledge our departure. Maybe they were glad to see the back of us. The sad thing is, I was making notes for a friend who wanted to take over the whole place for a big party. We went elsewhere.

1  Thank florakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Leconfield, Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your dining experience at The Leconfield.
We are sorry that your experience wasn't a positive one and that our service was not up to standard on the day that you dined with us.
We always want to maintain high standards of service and are sorry that you did not experience this.
We would be glad to have you dine with us again soon and promise we can turn your current view into a positive view of the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 266 of 372 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Good value lunches and most important, excellent, friendly, attentive service without being over the top.
Restaurant is a lovely, comfortable setting in which to dine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Murmeltier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Leconfield, Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback about The Leconfield Restaurant.
We are pleased to hear that you feel our lunches are good value and that our service is attentive yet not too over the top. We aim to keep our standards of food and service high and are glad that you have recognised this.
We hope to see you dine with us again soon at The Leconfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We arranged a 50th Diner Party at the Leconfield for 12 people, we met with Richard, the Manager, a few days before to discuss the details and choose some wines, nothing was too much trouble and everything was possible. We used one of the private dining rooms upstairs, we had champagne and canapés in the soft seating area outside the dining room before sitting down for dinner.

The food was exceptional, the ambience perfect and the staff were brilliant, everyone enjoyed their meal and loved the Leconfield. Great attention to detail - truly memorable evening for all the right reasons.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank T O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Leconfield, Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive feedback regarding your 50th dinner party at The Leconfield.
It is fantastic to hear that you had such a good experience and believe we are a memorable restaurant.
We are pleased to hear that our private dining room was to your liking and you felt there was a perfect ambience.
We would be glad to have you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My twin and i celebrated our 19th Birthday at the Leconfield last friday night. We couldn't have hoped for a better evening. The food was absolutely incredible. The steak we had was the best ever. I had the sea bass which i can safely say has now become a firm favourite of mine. Everyone was very friendly and the service was flawless. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a special evening out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amelia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Leconfield, Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your birthday meal at The Leconfield.
We are glad to hear that you would recommend us for a special evening and felt that the service was flawless.
Many thanks and we hope you return to dine with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We had such a lovely evening last Friday night. There were 6 of us- the meals were delicious and perfect sized portions and timing. Great atmosphere and friendly and polite staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clemmie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Leconfield, Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about your experience at The Leconfield.
We are glad that you felt the food portions and timing of your dinner were just right.
We hope to see you dine again with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Leconfield also viewed

Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
Tillington, West Sussex
 

Been to The Leconfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing