We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just love this place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of High Hampstead

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Hampstead
Ranked #8 of 17 Petworth B&B and Inns
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just love this place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

After Several visits to High Hampstead, i feel compelled to write about this fantastic B+B, on this particular visit i took my father and brother on a guys driving weekend, Annabel our lovely hostess was amazing and so thoughtful with regards to accommodating us in what can only be described as the most perfect of rooms with incredibly luxurious hugh beds, fabulous bathrooms which were all immaculately presented, just superb!

Of particular note was the food and the setting for our pre-booked evening meal which Annabel offered and prepared for us, she made us feel very relaxed and was very good at that 'at home feeling' the food was fantastic and perfect for our occasion, of note were the tremendous views from their kitchen and dinning area over their vast sprawling landscape which was truly special, It was also great to sit with Annabel and family and share some funny stories, to sum up, great unique comfortable location, fantastic wholesome food, all wrapped up with the perfect host.

I wouldn't change a thing.......perfect!

Kevin Morgan

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing, the apartment is perfect for longer stays and is a great little meeting place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
43
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We've just returned from our two-night stay in the apartment, having been very impressed by the reviews on tripadvisor. Our stay surpassed all expectations! Annabel was a lovely hostess, very welcoming and very down-to-earth - just what we needed to feel at home. The apartment is beautiful with a very comfortable kingsize bed and luxurious bathroom. We were expecting a living room, but not a fully equipped kitchen as well! Annabel provided a hearty breakfast - homemade fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, croissants, toast, cereal, followed by scrambled eggs (from her own chickens) and smoked salmon. We ate "al fresco" on the first fine morning, and in our own kitchen on the second chilly one! The Lurgashall countryside is so beautiful, and the peace and tranquility is very welcome when you live in a busy city. We dined at the Noah's Ark Inn in Lurgashall and the Horse Guards Inn in Tillington - both a bit pricey but very good food. We would recommend High Hampstead with no hesitation, and would love to return one day.

Room Tip: Choose the apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanStan707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a beautiful setup and just an hour from London - utterly silent, no planes or traffic. A ten minute walk across breath taking farmland dodging sheep to an amazing pub, the Noah's Ark. Had a pint while watching the cricket match. Lurgashall is a very pretty village with an ancient church and beautiful houses surrounding the village green. The accommodation has its own entrance so no need to go into the main house - we could come and go at any time of the day - also secure parking. There was no check out time, and we were able to go for a bike ride and leave after showering in the afternoon. My daughter loves riding and Annabel supplied a fabulous pony for her to have a hack on, encompassing a pub which we met them at. My son borrowed one of Annabel's bikes as his had a puncture. One of the party was a vegetarian and this wasn't a problem at all. We had the choice of eating in the house with fabulous views or having breakfast brought over to the apartment which made it a very leisurely affair. An amazing bathroom, with a separate walk in "wet room "style power shower. I was pleased that this is a very small B & B so only my family was accommodated in the 3 rooms and we had the place to ourselves. I didn't fancy sitting around a table chatting to total strangers and this was a massive plus point. Overall an extremely relaxed stay and nothing was a problem. Masses to do and see - amazing walks, cycle rides, jogging trails.... Many fabulous pub/restaurants nearby, we especially liked the Horse Guards Inn, Tillington and Duke of Cumberland in Henley. I have to say compared to other B & Bs the price is incredible value for such luxurious accommodation. A word of warning if you want to visit High Hampstead book well in advance!

Room Tip: Book the apartment - well worth the modest extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael_516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We have just come home from a lovely stay at this sumptuous B&B. The apartment was beautiful and has been finished with no cost spared. The bathroom was lovely and the bath was glorious, the wonderful rainfall shower was relaxing too!! The bed was a super king and was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was a feast, served to our room, everything you could possibly want to eat made with the finest produce. In summary the hospitality was glorious and we have already booked our next stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tisaimfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton Lancashire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I'm in total agreement with the other reviews. We stayed in the apartment - it was very spacious with a well equipped kitchen. The bedroom was equally spacious and the bed extremely comfortable. Annabel provided a delicious breakfast with home- made jam and marmelade, not to mention the fruit salad and bacon with scrambled eggs. She was also very helpful and recommended places to eat. If anyone doesn't sleep all that well the apartment at High Hampsted would be just perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanklin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

well what can i say, wow,amazing super. all of them some this place up. The views at breakfast
looking out over the farm are just brilliant and breakfast was just lovely. the room and bathroom are just perfect with a large courtyard just outside your door. try it you know you want to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 46AndyJo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, anada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were looking for a specially nice place to stay in the South Downs area for the final days of a six-week trip, and thanks to Trip Advisor discovered High Hampstead, close to Petworth. We are in complete agreement with all the glowing reports in others' reviews. Believe them! We stayed in the spacious, comfortable, and luxurious apartment, where we appreciated the high taste level of the furnishings and the yummy bathroom. Each morning Annabel arrived with a delicious breakfast and provided us with all kinds of excellent suggestions regarding the many sights to see in the area (one of which we would have missed completely without her help) not to mention a number of charming restaurants. Annabel did everything possible to enrich our stay. What a wonderful way to end our trip!

Room Tip: The apartment is a real treat, thought I expect all rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petworth
0.0 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Railway Station
The Old Railway Station
#1 of 17 in Petworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Barn at Roundhurst
The Barn at Roundhurst
#1 of 20 in Midhurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Halfway Bridge
The Halfway Bridge
#3 of 17 in Petworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buckfold B&B
Buckfold B&B
#4 of 17 in Petworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Willow Barns
Willow Barns
#7 of 17 in Petworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Hampstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Hampstead

Property: High Hampstead
Address: Lurgashall, Petworth GU28 9EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Petworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Petworth
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil location set within its own 100 acres of rolling wildflower meadows and Ancient Woodland. Elegant bedrooms each with a sumptuous en-suite bathroom and its own private entrance. A short walk away from the village of Lurgashall with its cricket green, church and Noahs Ark Inn. An ideal location for Goodwood, Cowdray Park, Arundel and Petworth. A wonderful area for cycling, walking and riding or just relaxing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
High Hampstead Petworth, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing