We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to pamper youself after a walk on the South Downs Way”
Review of Willow Barns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willow Barns
Ranked #8 of 17 Petworth B&B and Inns
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to pamper youself after a walk on the South Downs Way”
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We booked Willow Barns as our luxury treat half way along our 5 day walk down the South Downs Way. We were looking for some luxury after the rigours of hostels and B&Bs and were not dissappointed. A lovely welcome with home made cakes, fantastic rooms, a quiet rural location with decent food at the friendly village pub literally a stones throw away. If you fancy food that is a little more up market then the other village pub can offer that too!

After walking for 15 miles the luxury bathrooms were heaven, the beds super comfortable and the breakfast first class. Can't wait until our next stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danno33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    6
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
57
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We booked all five rooms for a nearby wedding and were not disappointed. There are five double rooms, two with impressive walk-in showers (recommended). We stayed in room 3 which I would ask for if staying again as it had a double aspect and that beautiful shower.

All the rooms were finished to a very high standard with attention to detail with regards the soft furnishings (the pictures on the internet don't do it justice). A few little things that we appreciated were the thick, soft white towels, the nice toiletries and fresh wild flowers in each room.

The bed and linen was extremely comfortable and clean. I never woke once, although that was probably due to the free bar at the wedding!

The breakfast was served in the dining area which again was clean and tastefully decorated. The food itself was impressive, with a full cooked breakfast, cereal, fruit, yoghurts and toast available.

Overall, the barns had a beautiful rural setting behind a local pub in a very sweet village. We particularly liked the view from our room, watching the resident pheasants walking right past our window. The biggest compliment I could offer is that we can't wait to find an excuse to go back, maybe with all the family.

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms with walk-in showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank po33um
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Stayed overnight for a wedding locally and wished we could of had longer at Willow Barns. We stayed in a Kingsize Double, sumptuous bed with heaps of bedding & cushions, lovely cosy room with great finishing touches and underfloor heating, serene views across fields of oak trees and pheasants, delicious breakfast choices with a personal touch and heaps of peace & quiet. Perfect.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancisHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2011

A hidden gem on the outskirts of Graffham, a beautiful quiet village tucked away in the heart of West Sussex. The hostess was incredibly friendly and helpful...with the wonderful eccentric qualities I like to find in a B&B...a wonderful chef too, the breakfast was simply scrumptious.

The bedrooms and bathrooms are beautifully furnished to a very high standard, I was lucky to have a tour of them all, they each have a great sense of style and comfort. The rooms are built around a charming courtyard and surrounded by wonderful views of the Downs.

I could not reccomend this B&B more, I cannot wait to go back again and have already made a booking to experience it in the summer. I can't praise it enough, wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fl0rence8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I stayed at the hotel after being recommended by a local who knew of the barns but had never stayed there. On arrival there were two crazy women running around trying to find keys and lights for the premesis, it was a Friday night and one can only assume that they had been awaiting our arrival in the Pub. On first glance the rooms are decorated to a high standard, however after a few minutes in the rooms this falls very flat. The "power" showers are pathetic to say the least - infact a better description would be "dribble" showers. The next problem is that they seem to be saving money and had decided not to turn the heating on which exposed the windows and doors exactly for what they are - one big draft.... Sat night at faulty towers only got more comical when 3 couples arrived only to be told that there had been a double booking and that they infact couldnt stay - a big argument proceeded that we were caught in the middle of. The highlight of our stay was definitely the breakfast which really was very good. However i will never stay here again, and never recommend anyone else stays here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mojo12344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We just spent, regrettably, only one night at Willow Barns but I can highly recommend it.
We were greeted by a very friendly and cheerful Wendy who made us feel extremely welcome, and gave us tea, coffee and homemade chocolate brownies, YUM! We were then shown to our gorgeous bedroom and fab en suite. We were absolutely delighted with it. The bed very comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean. Having our own front door was a real bonus, we could come and go as we pleased. Very nice breakfast with plenty of choice served in a lovely breakfast room, which is part of the Barn conversion.

We had a drink in the Forrester Pub which is within walking distance of Willow Barns, well worth a visit . We didn't eat there as we had already eaten but the food looked very appetising.

We would love to go back to Willow Barns but for longer next time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susandavies57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2010

“Just spent a wonderful relaxing weekend at Willow Barns. Beautiful location, quiet and peaceful. Our room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Our hosts had thought of everything we could possibly need. We loved having our own front door and being able to use the kitchen space was a huge bonus. This really was a home from home. We have stayed in many B&Bs and would certainly rate Willow Barns as one of our favourites. We are already planng a return visit sometime soon. Incidentally the Forrester’s Pub (under new management) a short walk away was fantastic. The food was delicious and the welcome warm and friendly. “

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibbyH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petworth
3.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
The Old Railway Station
The Old Railway Station
#1 of 17 in Petworth
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Fox Goes Free
The Fox Goes Free
#1 of 4 in Charlton
301 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#2 of 17 in Petworth
165 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Welldiggers Arms
The Welldiggers Arms
#6 of 17 in Petworth
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Barns

Property: Willow Barns
Address: Heyshott Rd | Graffham, Petworth GU28 0NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Petworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Petworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Willow Barns 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willow Barns lies in a peaceful location under the South Downs, on the edge of the village of Graffham. We have the added convenience of being located behind our own pub. Graffham is within the new South Downs National Park, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, very close to Goodwood and Cowdray park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Willow Barns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willow Barns Petworth, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing