We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lap of Luxury”
Review of South Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
South Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Beeding
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, England
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lap of Luxury”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is well situated for Brighton, Gatwick etc. with a great view of the Sussex Downs. On arrival with my car I was greeted by a member of staff who unloaded the car. He assisted booking in, showing us to our room, explained all the facilities available. Arranged for the various menus to come to our room. Arranged for the car to be parked, leaving the key at reception with a plan as to my cars location. All the staff I found to be very helpful.
The room was supposed to be one of their standard room and it was great far better than many so called Executive Room I have stayed at in the past.
The meals were great and well presented. I even got fried bread when I asked for it at breakfast. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
The Bar was well stocked especially in the whiskey department.
All in all. The location, the facilities and the staff make this a splendid hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: There are two newer wings to the hotel if you do not have a liking for the older main house. Some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear John H,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted you found our location, facilities, as well as the team all added to a fantastic overall stay.

I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team here at South Lodge. We all strove to go the extra mile to deliver exceptional experiences to our guests and as you rightly point out nothing is too much trouble.

On behalf of Michael and the entire team thank you once again and we do hope to welcome you back before too long.

With very best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    267
    104
    44
    23
See reviews for
269
843
17
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Great Ouseburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
743 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We wanted somewhere special to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. South Lodge delivered big time and together with a superb “Pass Experience” (see separate TA Review) this was nearly the perfect weekend.

The staff at SL are excellent. No matter who you speak to, no matter what job they do. And they have this uncanny knack of remembering your name even when they have only just met you. Genuine friendliness without going over the top. Information when you want it, silence when you don’t.

Our check in was smooth and we were personally taken by the receptionist to our Junior Suite – Cresswood in the new part of the hotel. Lovely sized room at the “front” with great views over the Sussex countryside. A good start. Excellent bed – very comfy and lots of nice touches including Minty the “Do Not Disturb” Sheep. Only way to improve from my eyes would be to have a digital radio facility rather than the AM/FM system which was a little “Tony Blackburn” - behind the times…

The Wine cellar with the opportunity to taste a selection of red, white and rose is definitely worth a visit. Your choice. Have a sip of something special for your £20 credit or go for volume at the lower end. No guessing what we did.

Breakfast in terms of food quality was excellent. Lovely fruit and very well prepared full English. Sadly the service was not quite there – something taken onboard by the management who recognised they could have done better…. That said it showed they cared when a personal email from Operations Manager Mark Surguy was received just two hours after we returned home on the Sunday. Nice touch and much appreciated.

I note an earlier review dated 6 September mentions "checking the bill". And this would be my advice as well. We had pre-paid via a third party for the majority of our weekend and this had not been quite communicated. No big deal at all – settled very quickly and no issue.

So yes the reports are true. This is a top class 5 star establishment where you will be well looked after. Add in the Pass to the mix and you won’t find much better. We’ll be back for our Ruby if the present Mrs B puts up with me for another 15 years.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MStJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear MStJB,

Thank you for your wonderfully comprehensive review of South Lodge.

Many congratulations on your landmark anniversary. I am delighted your trip away did not disappoint and you had a wonderful time whilst with us. The team at South Lodge go out of their way to ensure all our guests have a magnificent experience and as such it is always lovely to be recognised for a job well done.

I am pleased you enjoyed your junior suite. We are in the process of upgrading our televisions to SKY so we will soon have much greater variety, including an updated radio list.

It was great to read your separate review of The Pass and the photos really do bring some of the atmosphere and flavour of the experience to the reader. Matt, Tommaso and the team are thrilled your evening was memorable.

I am sorry there were one or two issues at breakfast as well as a slight discrepancy with your bill. It was a pleasure to catch up with you in person and I am very confident we can overcome these issues with re-training.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have a future stay in mind.

All the very best,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have just returned from a very pleasant overall experience - proper afternoon tea in bone china cups and matching tea service, including a wonderful tasty variety of sandwiches, scones and cakes at South Lodge. The staff could not have been more courteous and welcoming, accommodating my elderly father who walks with a frame and happy to engage in discussions about where the different types of tea came from and the history of the premises.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonibovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear tonibovis,

Thank you for joining us for afternoon tea.

I am pleased you had such a pleasant experience. We are all proud to work at South Lodge and plenty of us are happy to share its fascinating history. Tea is fascinating too. We have recently appointed our resident tea expert to the position of Tea Sommelier. Natalia has a wonderful passion for tea and is looking to introduce some exciting tea blends and even cocktails over the next few weeks.

Hopefully we will see you again before too long.

Kindest regards,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

this hotel overall has everything you require! style,class,elegance and overall abosolutely beautiful scenic views. the staff are lovely, we stayed in a junior suite over valentines weekend and i would more than recommend coming back to this place a million times over! the food was superb. the only problem was the early check out! i didnt want to leave the lovely bed!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaassshhheeerrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear aaassshhheeerrr,

What a lovely review! Thank you ever so much for taking the time to post and for reviewing us so favourably.

It is fabulous to read your enjoyed your junior suite, the food here at South Lodge, as well as the beautiful views of the South Downs.

I am sorry you had to leave your wonderful bed on your morning of departure but hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for Valentines 2014 or if not before.

With very best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just got back from a two night stay and couldn't have had a more enjoyable time at a superb hotel. The room we had was huge with amazing amenities - huge shower, tv above the bath etc. we took our baby with us and the hotel supplied a cot in the room plus some toiletries for him, a little book and had put some bath toy letters out spelling baby! Was such a lovely touch!
Also thought the minty lamb toy on the bed with the do not disturb tie was nice.
Breakfast was brill. Lots of cereals, meats, fruit etc to pick from plus a cooked breakfast which was delicious.
We had a 3 course meal in the camellia both nights and the food was amazing. I would definitely recommend the pork belly and the dripping chips!
Staff are really helpful and friendly. There are some really nice walks around the hotel and you can take a bike out free of charge too. I also went in the gym which has top of the range equipment and complimentary bottles of water and towels
I was really sad to leave the hotel as my stay was so perfect! Can't wait to return!
Just hope there are some small mintys to buy next time as wanted to get one for my baby but they had run out :-(

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Kelly S,

Thank you for describing us as an amazing hotel and for joining us for a short break away.

I am so pleased your stay was a success and all of the family enjoyed themselves. The pork belly is certainly a favourite of mine too. It sounds as if you enjoyed all that South Lodge has to offer with some fantastic dining experiences and working it all off with cycling and walking in our scenic gardens and grounds and sessions in our wonderful new gym.

We have had a delay in the delivery of our do not disturb ‘Minty’ sheep. However, once they are back in stock I would be delighted to arrange delivery to your home address. Please contact me at the hotel if this is of interest. Otherwise I am sure you will be able to pick one up on your next stay.

The team and I very much look forward to seeing you then.

Warmest regards,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We cannot wait to return to the South Lodge Hotel. Our bedroom was amazing: We stayed in a Junior Suite which was huge, with every convenience we could have wished for. The bed was so comfortable and luxurious, as was the bathroom (steam room / shower and jacuzzi bath with TV at the end). Everything was impeccably clean.
The staff were very courteous, without being 'stuffy', and they were all extremely friendly and helpful. We ate in the Camellia restaurant and found the food to be very good although the wine was quite pricey - the cheapest bottles being £28-£30. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of options to choose from.
The little 'extras' made it seem even more special, for example the complimentary newspapers, fresh fruit in reception / bar area, and the unexpected complimentary dish before our evening meal. We found the hotel to be very good value, although we did take advantage of a special offer so did not pay full price.
The grounds are very nice too and it is convenient for Horsham.
Hope we get the chance to return before too long - we are big fans of South Lodge now!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear SusannaLondon,

Thank you so very much for your super review and for your love of South Lodge!

I am pleased you have enjoyed such a wonderful stay with us. Your bedroom sounds fantastic with a steam room, separate shower and Jacuzzi bath. Dinner too sounds great, with good food and high levels of service.

We very much you hope you have the chance to return to South Lodge and with that in mind we do look forward to seeing you before too long.

Kindest regards,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We celebrated my brother's birthday with the tasting menu in the hotel's modern, chic dining-room adjacent to the bright busy open kitchen. The service was superb but unobtrusive, the food delicious. Unexpected additions such as the amuse bouche and petit fours complemented the dinner. Breakfast the following day was made to order and was equally good.
Our room, Montclair (532) was at the back of the hotel and huge with spectacular views of the tree-spotted, purple hilled South Downs and contained all the trappings of a luxury hotel and more;excellent sound system, robes, slippers and iron. Our bathroom was almost the same size and contained a flat screen TV which you could watch while in the bath. Unfortunately we did not have time to explore the gardens which looked beautiful from the window of our room. The hotel has many lounges and seating areas so although there were a lot of people staying it never felt over-crowded. Such a shame we only had one night here......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlstroemeriaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear AlstroemeriaLondon,

Thank you for your charming review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us at South Lodge. The Pass is quite an experience, it is great to read it didn’t disappoint.

What a pity you had to leave! We hope to welcome you back to your Sussex home in the not too distant future.

With very best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Beeding
10.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
5.2 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
354 reviews
20.7 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
20.4 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge Hotel

Property: South Lodge Hotel
Address: Brighton Road, Lower Beeding, Horsham RH13 6PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Horsham > Lower Beeding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Beeding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — South Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Gold Award for 'Large Hotel of the Year' at the Beautiful South Awards 2015, South Lodge is less than an hour from Central London and nestles amongst 93 acres of stunning woodland and parkland. A magnificent, former family country house - it's the perfect place to relax and unwind whilst indulging yourself with fine wine, gourmet food and unbeatable horizons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Hotel Lower Beeding
South Lodge Hotel Lower Beeding, West Sussex, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing