We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go that extra mile . . .”
Review of South Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
South Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Beeding
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in January and have to say that it is the most respectful and courteous hotel that we have ever stayed in.

The service is second to none from the lady on reception to the waiting staff in The Pass.

We will definitely be returning again and again and again.

TIP: try the Purple Rain cocktail . . . it's stunningly beautiful :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollenca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear pollenca,

Thank you for your lovely review.

It is great to read of your superb stay. I am so pleased it was enjoyable, especially the welcome from the front of house team and your experience in The Pass.

I was lucky enough to try the Purple Rain cocktail recently and I agree with you; fantastic looking and great tasting.

We look forward to seeing you again, and again!

Kindest regards,

Mark Surguy
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
There are newer reviews for South Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,348 - 1,354 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed over the weekend as a special treat for ourselves and were not dissapointed.
Everyting from arrival on Friday lunchtime until departing on Sunday morning was first class.
Staff could not be more helpful or polite every minute of our stay.
Dinner at The Pass on Friday night was out of this world followed by The Camelia on Saturday which was equally as good.
Although comparitively more than we would normally pay we will certainly return in the future.
Special thanks to Chris and the Bar Manager who were extra special

Room Tip: We were in The Denemans Room on the lower ground floor which was excellent
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briandurham6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Briandurham6,

Thank you for your superb review. A two night stay with dinner in both our Camellia and Pass restaurants sounds a fabulous treat, I’m pleased it didn’t disappoint.

The team will be delighted with your kind words, in particular I will pass on your thanks to Chris and the bar team.

We very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Mark Surguy
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here at beginning of December, invited by relatives who had been before. Great weekend, room superb and spacious (think we were upgraded so can't comment on standard rooms), food really good (dinner in Cammelias, and great buffet at breakfast plus cooked selection). Enjoyed looking round, lots of history of the house, friendly staff wherever we went, and comfy bar / lounge to relax in.

Looking forward to going back this weekend for another short break and dinner in The Pass!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Ann H,

Thank you for your kind words. South Lodge is full of history, having been built by Fredrick Godman (a leading botanist) in the 1880’s. The Camellia restaurant is actually named after the beautiful Camellia planting which predates the original house!

The team and I are pleased to hear you enjoyed your bedroom, the food at dinner as well as at breakfast and of course the service and team here.

We do hope you had a fabulous stay this weekend.

All the best,

Mark Surguy
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went to South Lodge for a Birthday weekend. We stayed in the Arboreum suite which amongst other things had a steam room, TV in the bathroom and even a doorbell. Didn't have the view but it was great - got a bit of an upgrade we think because we spent alot of money (well parents in law did) on a cream tea the next day for 17 people. The food in the restaurant was great (try the hogget which is lamb) and there was pre starters and pre desserts. Bar food was also good (try the fish finger bun with chips £11). Staff were very good generally - my only gripe is that it was sometimes hard to get somebody to get you a drink when in the lounge - always seemed to be lots of staff but often told they needed to get the waitress so not sure who was serving and who wasn't. Gave up waiting sometimes and had to get up to ask which is a bit embarrassing.

Overall it is a 5 star experience and would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Any suite is a bonus.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spencerallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Gadgetgeezer,

Thank you for your review and for posting such splendid pictures of Arboreum. All of us here at South Lodge are thrilled your stay was such a success. The Arboreum room is a favourite of mine too, especially the incredible bathroom. It is always a treat to watch TV whilst in the bath!
We like to think of ourselves as a bit of a foodie destination, with the Camellia restaurant holding two rosettes and the Pass restaurant holding four rosettes as well as a coveted Michelin star. It often gets forgotten that our fabulous bar and lounges do also have a cracking menu. I am pleased you enjoyed it.

All of us here at South Lodge very much looking forward to seeing you again.

Kindest regards,

Mark Surguy
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Thank you for an amazing stay. The staff, without exception, were friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. It was the best night's sleep we have had for such a long time. I would love to know where you get your mattress toppers from because I want one!!!! it was our first visit to your hotel but hopefully will not be our last.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Wendy M,

Thank you so much for your exceptional review of South Lodge. It is lovely to read you had an amazing stay and the staff and food were exceptional. We are all so pleased we played a small part in making your ruby anniversary such a success.

I am delighted you had such a restful night’s sleep. Please contact me at the hotel directly (msurguy@southlodgehotel.co.uk) and I would be delighted to pass on our mattress cover supplier information.

The team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With very best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a private function here and stayed overnight with a few friends. The room was incredible overlooking the lawns on a frosty winters weekend.The beds are just so comfortable you won't want to get up! The reception, service and food all fantastic. The only down side is the bar prices, take your credit card you will need it. The breakfast was so delicious and we went for a walk around the grounds the next day which are just beautiful. Unfortunately I hadn't noticed the great tip that the hotel provides wellies and umbrella's for clients and I got very muddy. We returned for afternoon tea recently and that too was just fantastic. One of the party was vegetarian and they received the whole tea separately all fresh and delicious. If you want a special treat stay here, ask for a room overlooking the grounds and sit by the beautiful fire with a glass of bubbly and enjoy.

Room Tip: They are all lovely but the one we had was incredible overlooking the lawn in the old part of the ho...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Charlotee003,

I was delighted to read that you had a wonderful time with us and got to sample all that the hotel has to offer, thank you for reviewing.

Your bedroom sounds just magnificent: South Down views and a very comfortable bed. I am pleased breakfast and afternoon tea were delicious too.

I really do hope that you come back and stay with us again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Arriving in a December downpour the warm reception from the team of staff at the front desk made up for the rather damp walk from the car park. The friendly and genuine service was unobtrusive and made this stay a really pleasurable experience. From the provision of fresh milk to make my own tea to the doorman who escorted me back to my car under the cover of his umbrella, great service with personal touches is certainly something South Lodge get right.

The room itself was quite traditional in style but immaculate. Even on close inspection I couldn't find a stray hair or spec of dust in sight! A pretty lit Christmas tree had been placed in the room and made the room feel even more warm and inviting. The bathroom was really well finished with good quality complimentary toiletries, a huge walk in shower, luxurious stand alone bath tub and a flat screen TV! My only gripe was that upon taking a bath the water ran cold before it was half full!

Room service was friendly and efficient and the food tasty - and hot! Settling myself down for some much needed sleep the bed itself was huge and the duvet, pillows and linen were among the most comfortable I have ever slept on and under! In the morning my pre ordered breakfast was delivered with a friendly smile and arrived at exactly the time I had specified.

My only disappointment was having to leave! South Lodge felt like a very luxurious home from home and although expensive I would really recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOTG_DRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear MOTG_DRH,

Thank you for joining us for a pre-Christmas getaway and reviewing us so favourably. Your praise for the service and the team is lovely to read as we are all committed and work so hard towards providing the warmest of welcomes and delivering the very best experiences for our guests throughout their stay.

We are sorry you had to leave as well!

Hopefully we will see you again at South Lodge before too long.

All the best,

Mark Surguy
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Beeding
10.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
1.1 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
364 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
20.7 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
20.4 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge Hotel

Address: Brighton Road, Lower Beeding, Horsham RH13 6PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Horsham > Lower Beeding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Beeding
Price Range: $234 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — South Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Gold Award for 'Large Hotel of the Year' at the Beautiful South Awards 2015, South Lodge is less than an hour from Central London and nestles amongst 93 acres of stunning woodland and parkland. A magnificent, former family country house - it's the perfect place to relax and unwind whilst indulging yourself with fine wine, gourmet food and unbeatable horizons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Hotel Lower Beeding
South Lodge Hotel Lower Beeding, West Sussex, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing