We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of The Crabtree

The Crabtree
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
curlykate1976
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is our 2nd visit and did not disappoint. We stopped for Sunday lunch and it was lovely! We both had the 2 course set menu (£18.99 per person) and chose Roast Beef for main & I had chocolate brownie for pud, and hubby had cheese and biscuits. The food was lovely, fresh veg including kale, carrots and a melt in the mouth sliced beef, topped off with a massive Yorkshire pud! The staff are friendly and attentive, and the whole place has a great atmosphere! We then sat and had drinks in the lovely beer garden, all the flower beds in bloom and a fantastic view! We love this place and will be back!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank curlykate1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    166
    80
    40
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Boyfriend's sisters b-day meal”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We booked a table for my boyfriend's sisters b-day meal. The service and food could not be faulted however we were unfortunately sat near to the bar exit door and on the edge of the hall opposite the fire place (not on as wrong time of year) which made you feel like you were in the way. Also it was draftee.

Would return if sat somewhere else.

The staff made the experience a lovely one and wrote happy birthday on the sisters dessert plate.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank al171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Relax in the garden”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Great place to stop and have a delicious meal while you sample their fine beer on tap!
We sat in the back garden where we were served wonderful whitebait and gnocchi in a cream sauce.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Consistently great food and service at this gem of a gastro-pub”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We have eaten at the Crabtree on a regular basis and it's always been consistently good. Rare treat of a gastro-pub that really delivers on the gastro experience. The menu is always interesting and changes regularly with good quality wines - all priced reasonably. The staff are always professional and friendly. I've read some of the more negative reviews here and I'm really surprised - I guess when you're this good, expectations are that much higher. Personally, we look forward to each visit and have never been disappointed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireG003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A proper summer treat”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

This beautiful little pub is a lovely place for a summer's evening meal.

We sat outside in the gardens and made the tricky choice from an enticing menu.

I enjoyed the octopus starter, the fish was perfectly cooked (although the charm of quinoa passes me by altogether). My main of veal on a bed of puréed potato was glorious - wonderful tender meat, a real treat.

With some fine ales on offer and very cheery and helpful staff this was near faultless. Smashing!

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crabtree also viewed

 
Lower Beeding, Horsham
Horsham, West Sussex
 

Been to The Crabtree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing