We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hugely disappointing”
Review of The Pass

The Pass
Reserve with OpenTable
The Pass is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $41
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: The Pass is set to be a totally innovative dining venue with a very dramatic twist. Taking a seat in this theatre, you will be able to contribute to the backstage drama involved in presenting a superb and ground breaking tasting menu, combining a resourcefully superior menu with a truly memorable encounter. Executive Chef, Lewis Hamblet describes his cooking as English interlaced with Mediterranean influences and strictly follows the Exclusive Hotels initiative to source the very best produce from local suppliers.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hugely disappointing”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were invited to join friends for a birthday celebration and were very much looking forward to an interesting and innovative evening. Although comfortable, the design of the restaurant is dated and a little tired and I fully appreciate the lighting levels by which the chefs need to work, it was a little like eating in an operating theatre and therefore lacked atmosphere. We all went for the 8 course taster menu accompanied by the "wine fly". The sommelier was excellent, each wine was explained to us and suited the food perfectly. Each course was brought and explained beautifully, however for a restaurant of this notoriety and price, although beautifully presented the food lacked a certain magic and many of the courses were just too similar. I'm very sorry, but when one pays in excess of £150 per head for dinner with drinks outside London, I expect to be wowed and my husband and I quite simply were not, although enjoyable, the food was unmemorable and quite frankly disappointing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fluffyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    71
    30
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for that special occasion”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I'd taken some clients here for lunch earlier this year, and was so impressed with what The Pass offers, that I was eager to find the right occasion to try dinner. We finally found that occasion and spent a lovely Saturday evening there. We booked early so we wouldn't be rushed, and asked for the most central-to-the-kitchen table (which is table number 12, by the way).

The thought of eight or nine courses (plus cheese) can be quite daunting, but each course is so perfectly planned in both size and taste combinations that you leave very satisfied, but not uncomfortably stuffed.

Each dish came out as a work of art, and was expertly explained to us in detail what was on the plate. But this was not style over substance. The flavours were delicate where they needed to be, and bold when necessary.

The service was very attentive, and nobody was too busy to answer any questions, including Matt Gillan, head chef at The Pass. The kitchen was very busy that night, but our questions were always answered with great aplomb. We were even invited to take a quick tour of the kitchens, including the kitchens behind the scenes, and the chef assigned to take us around did so with great patience, even though it was probably the last thing he wanted to do that night!

Are you going to get a typical English Country Hotel dinner at The Pass? No. Definitely not. But if you want to try food combinations that just dance on your tongue, this is definitely the place to do that. Lunchtimes are certainly less hectic than a Saturday night, but this really is something special to try . . . at least two or three times . . . .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wygfo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing meal and amazing atmosphere”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a great meal here recently whilst we were staying at the hotel for a birthday celebration. A great concept with a lovely atmosphere, we managed the 8 course taster menu which I think turned into 11 courses (we had to decline the cheese course!). I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this for a special occasion, it was worth every penny!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thepicklepatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lives up to all the hype”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

What an experience! 5 course tasting lunchtime menu presented at the table by the chefs for £35 each. We will be returning for a bigger table around Christmas. The best presentation of food , creativity and taste that I have had outside the top London restauants. Highly recommended for something slightly different and memorable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tgw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
421 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A real food experience”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

There are now quite a few chefs tables around but I know of no other restaurant that is completley created around that concept, hence its name The Pass. 28 diners, if it is full, all in the kitchen, with one table of four butting up against the kitchen work area but still done in a character of a top class eating establishment. The food is just excellent, there is no point in searching for more superlatives. What it produces is top quality and pushes the boundaries of flavour combinations to give your palate a real excitement. The staff are excellent, even to the point of recognising that we had been once before and reminding us what menu we chose last time, they are all tasting menus, quite rightly, no a la carte nonsense here. I love the way that the dishes are brought to the table by the chefs who explain what you are just about to savour, a really nice touch making a great connection between the effort in the creation and you. I found it friendly, enjoyable, classy and an experience which will be repeated again without doubt. If it were in London you wouldn't be able to get a table, so don't both going to London!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pass also viewed

 
Horsham, West Sussex
West Hoathly, West Sussex
 

Been to The Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing