We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal out”
Review of The Pass

The Pass
Reserve with OpenTable
The Pass is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $41
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: The Pass is set to be a totally innovative dining venue with a very dramatic twist. Taking a seat in this theatre, you will be able to contribute to the backstage drama involved in presenting a superb and ground breaking tasting menu, combining a resourcefully superior menu with a truly memorable encounter. Executive Chef, Lewis Hamblet describes his cooking as English interlaced with Mediterranean influences and strictly follows the Exclusive Hotels initiative to source the very best produce from local suppliers.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great meal out”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Cant fault the food or the service.
The fact you are eating "at the Pass" makes it a more interesting experience.

Helpful?
Thank craig w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    71
    30
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“UnsurPASSable!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We've visited this restaurant a few times and have always been delighted. This visit was for joint special celebrations(2 special birthdays, 50th Wedding Anniversary) and needed to be extra special, it certainly did not disappoint. The staff are exceptional being knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. The atmosphere is unique, casual yet special and the whole experience is unforgettable.
We went for the Pass Experience Menu with the wine flight and we guided through each and every dish and wine thoughtfully and with great understanding. It was so easy to ask questions without appearing a complete novice both of the food and the wine. It was also interesting to see the whole show of the preparation and presentation of each course in the spotless kitchens by staff who were calm and working in unison. No raised voices, diva performances or bad language - Gordon Ramsay beware!
The food itself is out of this world, beautifully presented and tasting divine. From the first arrival of the bread sticks, through the amuse bouche, the unusual bread with the selection of 3 salts right through to the coffee (I had fresh mint tea!) and handmade chocolates it was exceptional.
This was the best of evenings for the best of reasons - good friends, great food and fantastic atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justenj0yinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great idea and good food”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We've lived in West Sussex for 5 years now, and have been told on many occasions you must try the Pass, so last weekend that's what we did. We arrived at South Lodge and met our friends in the bar for a pre-dinner drink, a lovely building and a lovely start to the evening.
We went through to the "restaurant" a series of tables in the kitchen, we went for the 8 course dinner with wine flight and very nice it was to, having eaten at the chef's table at the L'Ortolan earlier this year, it gave us a benchmark to compare against, and as nice it was the Pass didn't match L'Ortolan, that said it was all well presented, all the staff were enthusiastic and knowledgeable and it was a great evening, but lacked the interaction with the chefs that we had at the L'Ortolan, so hence the 4 stars

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JTattheloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Deserves 6 stars + !”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We went to the Pass restaurant as part of a package staying at the South Lodge Hotel where it is located.

The whole restaurant is themed as a chef's table - with only a few tables so that is feels intimate - and the tables are located far enough away from the kitchen that you don't feel the heat, but close enough to enjoy the experience of seeing your food cooked for you!
I was seated facing the kitchen, my partner with his back to the kitchen (but on a special swivel chair so he could still see all of the action). They also have screens if you want to spy on the chef's without turning around.

Every bite was a treat - we went for the slightly cheaper of the two tasting menu's with the accompanying white flight. We were also treated to amuse bouche and a complimentary extra course at the beginning! Even the bread was interesting, with a white and brown opposite corner salted mini loaf with three types of salt to accompany it!

The meal was wonderful - really tasty with fantastic flavour combinations, and with all of the courses we felt well and truly satisfied at the end of the meal.
Every plate was explained to us, including the matching wines and how they complimented the meal.

I must say a massive thank you to the waiting staff and chef on the pass that evening - they really were wonderful and friendly. I was really interested in one of the courses, so the chef called me over and put it together right in front of me, explaining each ingredient and it's preparation as he prepared the plate. Another lady at the table next to us had worked in a kitchen and it was a big birthday for her, and the chef invited her into the kitchen and she helped prepare her own dessert!

I will definitely be visiting the Pass in the future - a truly exceptional experience that I can't wait to have again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I visited The Pass for my dad and step mum's 60th birthday and it was absolutely amazing! The staff are knowledgeable, enthusiastic and friendly. The combinations of flavours are incredible, the presentation impeccable and they leave a good gap between each course so that you don't feel totally stuffed. Our meal was spread out over 4 hours but it didn't drag at all. With the quality of the food and the fact you get to watch the chefs at work, makes this brilliant value for money. I recommend this wholeheartedly

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie6411x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pass also viewed

 
Horsham, West Sussex
West Hoathly, West Sussex
 

Been to The Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing