We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Visit”

The Windmill Harvester
Ranked #70 of 95 Restaurants in Littlehampton
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: At The Windmill Harvester in Littlehampton food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Family Visit”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went here for a family birthday meal, 6 adults - two children under 6. Arriving about 17.30 on a Thursday evening meant we had a table straight away. Waitress was very friendly. Salad bar wasn't bad but no bread or butter, this was replenished fairly quickly. My steak was cooked ok but was fairly gristly on the edge, tomato was burnt. Everyone else had no complaints with their choices. We had taken a birthday cake to eat instead of ordering sweets and our waitress was excellent in arranging for the candle on the cake to be lit, providing a free bowl of ice cream, bringing plates and serviettes for everyone and supplying a knife to cut the cake. Some restaurants do not like customers bringing their own food but this establishment had no problems at all. As with other Harvesters the menu choices were very good and prices fairly cheap. All in all a good time had by all.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nautique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    131
    98
    69
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very reasonably priced, decent food, great for families.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I took the wife and kids here on a beautiful Sunday after a walk around Littlehampton. We had been before and I remembered it being pretty good. It was busy on account of it being such great weather. We waited about 10 minutes for a table but we had a seat in the bar with a drink so no problem. we were shown to a booth and the decor is quite nice. It was a quite drafty whenever the door was opened so they may want to close the outer door. Its an extensive menu so plenty to choose from and I love the salad bar. The kids menu is also very good. The staff were all very nice and very helpful. For example, the bowls had all run out at the salad bar so I asked a young man if we can get some and he was very apologetic and brought some quickly. Also, a young boy was mucking around and fell back on the hard floor and bumped his head. Our waitress came straight over to help and went off to bring back a cold compress. I found them all very professional and eager to do a good job. That says a lot....The main course took a while to arrive but it was very busy, with unlimited salad bar you wont go hungry. My wife and I had the combo, chicken quarter and ribs, very nice indeed. The kids also enjoyed their meals. When the bill came, I was very pleased. The food was £25. For four people, stuffed to the brim, that is excellent value. All in all, very pleasant. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phillof76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and welcoming.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Good value for money. Can get VERY busy in the summer with beachgoers but the staff are always friendly and never buckle under the strain.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kristian999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tasteless over cooked food”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The smell of food cooking lures people in, but the only thing that makes this place attractive is its location. Slow service, long wait for food and when it arrived - all chargrilled until all you can taste is the charred grill. If you closed your eyes you couldn't guess. They must be saving money by not employing enough staff, because dirty uncleared tables all around. Should never have wasted our money. Over priced, poor quality food and over stretched service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oracle39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is part of the Harvester Chain of restaurants and affords good value for money for couples and families alike.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ELIZABETH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windmill Harvester also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Littlehampton, Arun District
 
Littlehampton, Arun District
Littlehampton, Arun District
 

Been to The Windmill Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing