We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, good service”
Review of Tai Kar Restaurant

Tai Kar Restaurant
Price range: $31 - $41
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good service”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Visited the Tai Kar a number of times over the years. Last visit was week on a Friday night. The restaurant was busy and had a good atmosphere. The food was lovely as usual and the quality of service was top notch.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisehb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    13
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid! Avoid! Avoid!”
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

We moved to Haywards Heath Recently and both were looking for a good Chinese Restaurant. This was not that! Awful food.... 2/10 for Chinese Restaurants.... Much better out there!

Helpful?
Thank flubberguts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Poor quality food - starters were woefull - really not worth wasting your mon

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“cold sake and rubbish service”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

really rubbish service for my grans birthday. it was a really special occasion but we had cold sake and had to serve ourselves also no rose wine!!. go across the road to the china brasserie its a 1000% better and a personal service

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“just the most excellent food possible”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We love this restaurant so much we travel half hour to go there. The food is al a carte, but it is also "eat as much as you like" which means it is a fresh as possible because it is made to your order unlike some buffet style all u can eat places. The process is a bit different so i will explain. You book a table - we always ask for a round one to sit our party of 7 (6 +1 baby) then select up to 5 starters for your table to share (they adjust the amount of food depending on the number of people in your party) then you select 5 mains to share and then add rice and noodles (although recently the noodles are £1 extra per portion) - you can have soup to start as well and you can add crispy duck for a couple of pound extra each person. Once you have finished your starters you can have another round of starters if you like or go for your mains. in any event you can order as many times as you like all freshly made and frankly I am amazed how quickly they cook each dish even when its busy, but like I have said each review we go when they just open instead of saying 8pm on a Saturday night! - you have to be a nutter to complain if you have to wait a while when they are packed out! - anyway enough of that. The food and flavours are fantastic and we stuff ourselves each time we go not out of greed but just because everything is just so nice you just want to carry on eating. Great staff too who always make an effort with my grandson who's 3 and a bit loud to say the least! Anyway if you are in the area make a bee line for this place - not to be missed.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SupermarioCrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tai Kar Restaurant also viewed

Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
 

Been to Tai Kar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing