We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good choice”

Cafe Rouge Haywards Heath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $19
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Café Rouge is located in the old fire station, which has been transformed into a stunning bistro - offering a little slice of Paris in Haywards Heath. French doors open up onto the outdoor terrace, a lovely sun-trap over the summer months. The restaurant also offers a gorgeous private dining room which can be booked free of charge, this can seat up to 24 people for celebrations or events. Book now and experience our fantastic menu with friends and family.
haywards heath
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“a good choice”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

the new menu has some lovely choices but I was sad to see the tapas style starters disappear. pleased to see the introduction of a set evening menu that's available on a Saturday night, this makes an evening more affordable if on s budget, you have a choice of two or three courses. service was friendly and prompt and the food all well cooked and well presented.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teacheronholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    117
    49
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Cafe Rouge in Haywards Heath is excellent we go there very regularly and always experience good food, friendly service. It is good to be recognised and welcomed back.
For a formula restaurant this is one of the best.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gotski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Delivers like a cosy pair of slippers but no Free Range Eggs!!!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is Cafe Rouge so anyone expecting a la carte please go elsewhere. What Cafe Rouge gives you is a little bit of a breather from the shopping and the high street. It also gives you a nice place to grab a meal if you fancy something in between eating at home and going out proper. I have to say I have been to this Cafe Rouge probably more than 30 times in the past few years. I always go with the intention of trying many of the other dishes but almost without fail always go for the steak and frites. I have always regretted the one or two times when I have ventured off of that plan.
The staff at this branch are really friendly and it is an almost informal homely feel. Without fail some of the best waiters and waitresses we have come into contact with.
The atmosphere is continental and you can close your eyes, take a deep breath in and believe you really are in some little cafe in Bordeaux. That is until you open your eyes to see some of the clientele and the kebab shop across the road!!
The food..... well for me the steak and frites is up there amongst the best. It is probably once or twice out of ten steaks that you get a dodgy one with a little too much fat or gristle. It is consistent and delivers almost every time. The other food is bog standard. My other half swears by the soufflé although we have stopped having that since we found out they don't use free range eggs which is absolutely bizarre when you find even McDonalds have free range nowadays.
Overall I would have given Cafe Rouge 3 stars and average but the staff at this branch specifically make it worth more than that so 4 starts given.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Service much improved!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Came here as a family of four, with 3 and 6 year olds. Service has been slow in the past which is particularly irritating with small children who want to eat as soon as they have ordered. However, we were very impressed with the speed that our orders were taken, and when the hot food came out. The only criticisms would be that the Caesar salad was really worse than mediocre, and the desserts were slow to come out. It's nice to have a non-Italian meal out in Haywards Heath, and the atmosphere in here is very relaxed, you never feel rushed to leave. I think service can slow down when it gets too busy but all the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenC_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Service issues?”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Been here before in December last year and was pleased that a chain restaurant was well worth the visit.

We were originally going to Brighton but rail works meant a change of venue was required. But being a sunny Sunday in the Sussex school holidays a pub lunch was out of the question so we decided to go to Cafe Rouge as they had a set lunch menu.

Under £10 for good food is reasonable though not cheap for 2 courses + a side of green beans add a large and a small house red the bill was only £ 29.

All food was hot and tasty, the only hiccup was the beans came out after we had started eating, however, when the bill came they had taken these off.

I've read on TA about the service but I've never experienced this today we had a different server a young guy, he knew about the dishes and repeated everything as he wrote it down to make sure he had the order correct. No problem about spoons for the pasta as soon as it arrived a spoon followed. We have never been here when it's been full, maybe other reviewers could mention how full the restaurant was when suffering bad service to aid others.

Down to Brighton next week.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreyTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge Haywards Heath also viewed

Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 

Been to Cafe Rouge Haywards Heath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing