We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”

Jeremy's at Borde Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $130
Cuisines: French, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Jermey's is a hidden gem, me and my family found this restaurant while wondering round haywards heath! and i must say iam glad to have found it ! it has beautiful outdoor seating, service was excellent, and food was superb. after our meal the chef came out to check on all the tables, he also gave us a free loaf of home made walnut bread! which was very generous of him! over all i had an amazing time. I would definitely recommend this restaurant !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    84
    32
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sussex UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place - isn't it about time they took on-line bookings?”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I go here often and don't get me wrong its a great place (as my Excellent rating will show) but there are a few things I wish they would change.
Firstly this is 2013 so why cant you book online?
Secondly why do they hardly ever seem to have steak on the menu (there always seems to be plenty of lamb...)
My only other moans would be the occasional lack of space when its busy and they try to pack you in and also the slightly uncomfortable weird plastic chairs out the back on the terrace (which are no good for larger gents!)

Now it would only be fair to follow up with some positives
Firstly the bread, its homemade and absolutely fantastic (and keeps coming too)
If its a sunny evening, there is nothing better than a nice glass of Champagne on the terrace at the back (ahh heaven!)
Lastly the presentation of the food and use of edible flowers and herbs to decorate the plates is always wonderful.
Anyway see you soon guys and keep up the good work!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
424 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Just a little disappointing”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had only previously visited this venue once about 3 years ago as part of a wedding party. It's an excellent venue for such an event in every way, food, location,surrounding all excellent. So I was very much looking forward to having a meal there with friends recently.

It's a very lovely location with great areas to eat and drink both inside and out. We were given a very nice greeting by I think the owners and taken to a table on the restaurant veranda which is very nice indeed.

The menu was very good with just about the right amount of choice. I could have picked any of it. I always try and go for local dishes if I can, so I selected a rabbit dish to start with and local lamb main course, albeit in a kind of Moroccan style.

I found the rabbit a bit disappointing and the sauce somewhat strange. The lamb dish was very interesting and tasty but the lamb itself a little over cooked and tough.
We were recommended a French red which was excellent and very reasonably priced.
Service was very good and relaxing throughout.

I think it's decent value for money at about £50 per head (inc 3 bottles of wine) and overall it was a really nice experience. It was so close to being excellent but anything local should be 100% so thats a sin. I get the feeling if I went back another 5 times it would be 5* each time so I intend to do that.

If i lived locally i would no doubt use it all the time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Epicureously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Ruby Wedding For David and Trudi Kluge”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I chose Jeremy's to celebrate our Ruby Wedding. With the help of Joanne we picked a superb three course menu for our 58 guests and each one of them were not disappointed. The food was excellent and the staff could not do enough for us. We have received thank you letters from most of our friends and family and all say what a brilliant time they had and what an amazing setting.
Many thanks to all at Borde Hill for making our day so special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trudikluge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant food”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

After the surprise of being shown into the bar but not being asked for our drinks order, the service improved amazingly. Our waiter was (one of) Jeremy's sons and was very knowledgeable about the food and cooking method. The food was excellent throughout and our waiter's service was discreet but attentive; he was particularly helpful with choosing the dessert wine. I look forward to going back, next time we are in the area

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeremy's at Borde Hill also viewed

West Hoathly, West Sussex
Lindfield, Haywards Heath
 
Hassocks, West Sussex
Lower Beeding, Horsham
 
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 

Been to Jeremy's at Borde Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing