We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a cup of tea when on crutches”
Review of Wakehurst Place

Wakehurst Place
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy the vast and beautiful grounds of Wakehurst. Situated in West Sussex and set in 465 acres of country estate, Wakehurst is glorious year-round with ornamental gardens, temperate woodlands, a nature reserve and an Elizabethan mansion. Besides the vast grounds, there is also a well-stocked gift shop, a cafe, a restaurant and a bakery.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great place for a cup of tea when on crutches”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were looking for somewhere that was easy to access while I was on crutches. I'm pleased to report that Wakehurst place was easy for me. The reception is very close to the car park, and there is a cafe within the reception building with lots of space around each table - ideal. there were no imsurmountable steps, nor a ramp that required yards of extra walking (which is often the case). We got free entry with our NT cards, and will return one day to walk round the gardens properly. I had a delicious roast beef sandwich, but my partner's soup of the day was a bit too salty. It would have scored 5 out of 5 if the soup had been better.
Good shop with a nice range of Christmas items.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank maisielane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    228
    71
    33
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“beautiful at any time of year!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Fabulous gardens and woodland. Huge variety of plants and the seed bank is fascinating. Great day out whatever age you are. Wheelchair and pushchair friendly. Lovely sculpture trail and the stable cafe serves lovely fresh food. Friendly staff and the shop is huge with a great selection of gifts and souvenirs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank emmelinep64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted UK
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“You will not have enough time”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

National Trust card gets you into this Kew Gardens related property. Don't expect the house to be exciting but the grounds are a delight. Something all year round. Do try to make one of the free guided tours. they are excellent

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SilverTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Everything in one place”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great cafe with lots of outdoor seating and great cakes, organic hot dishes as well as cosy places to sit in Winter. UK's biggest Xmas tree at Christmas. Nice Tudor house to explore, walled gardens, water gardens and for me the best bit at Wakehurst is the gorgeous Himalayan Glade and the serene and peaceful lake. There are wild gardens and ordered trimmed gardens. At the heart of Wakehurst is the Millennium Seed Bank which is educational for children and adults alike.
You could easily spend the whole day at Wakehurst, fantastic mixture of things to see and do.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Well worth a long visit.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We both thoroughly enjoyed our visit here that was greatly enhanced by a (free) guided tour of an hour and a half. The gardens are simply superb and everything is immaculate, the sun shone and we had a coffee sitting at an outside table at the Stables Restaurant. The seed bank exhibition was very interesting to me, but unless one is a scientist/engineer/outright plant enthusiast I can imagine that it could be disappointing.

We will visit again, when, as were told that different guides often take different routes, will again take a tour when we do so.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wakehurst Place also viewed

Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
East Grinstead, West Sussex
Crawley, West Sussex
 

Been to Wakehurst Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing