We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly and value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Borde Hill Garden

Borde Hill Garden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A Great English Garden of rare plants and stunning landscapes make Borde Hill the perfect day out for horticultural enthusiasts, country lovers and families. Tranquil outdoor ' rooms' include the Azalea Ring and Rhododendron gardens, fragrant Rose Garden and scenic Italian Garden, plus subtropical dells and ruins. Woodland walks, adventure playground and events throughout the season. See website for details.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Family friendly and value for money”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very friendly atmosphere and great for those looking to take the kids out over the holidays. Many things to do to keep everybody entertained on a hot day.

Reasonable prices and good service, though parking was limited.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    75
    25
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens, lovely woodland walk, great playground”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Went with our 3yo and 6yo at the weekend, primarily to see the Sculpture Trail. The children loved finding the sculptures and it encouraged them to keep on walking! They really enjoyed being able to walk freely around the grounds, stopping to look at all the interesting plants. The playground was great - all the equipment is well-maintained, and it was nice to see picnic benches there too. Toilets were very clean, and we had a delicious lunch at the cafe before our walk. Although this is not the cheapest of local attractions, this is now part of the Tesco Clubcard Rewards scheme, so we paid for our entrance fee with those vouchers, which was great value. All in all, a peaceful and relaxing family day out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenC_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tea room”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Love going here because the food is home made and reasonable. Staff very pleasant and efficient.
However wanted to take our grandchildren to the play area but it was going to cost £20+ we only wanted to spend a little time in the park!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good for an afternoon out”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great little place for an afternoon out - childrens activities over the holidays. makes a refreshing change from national trust - but does have an entrance fee

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My children aged 12 and 14 and my mother all enjoyed this beautiful garden with all its nooks and crannies. Younger children would love the play area. The shop had some reasonably priced gifts and made a change to NT shops.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borde Hill Garden also viewed

Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 

Been to Borde Hill Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing