We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catching up with a friend”
Review of The Sergison Arms

The Sergison Arms
Cuisines: British, Gastropub, Wine Bar, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Sergison Arms offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Catching up with a friend”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We ate here 2 nights and it was a very pleasant experience. We were made very welcome, and the waitresses were helpful and attentive, but not intrusive. The chef also came over and chated which was good. As a northerner I felt we had good value for our money. The pub had a very friendly welcoming atmosphere and I would recommend a visit to all my friend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Millmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    81
    100
    100
    128
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awful”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Went to The Sergisons Arms on a Sunday. It was a terrible experience our meal took 1.5 hours to arrive. People who arrived after us were served before us and left before us. Management were hopeless kept promising our food was being plated up but it still didn't turn up. The ultimate insult was my husband finding buckshot in a Beef and Ale pie!!! Management promised to investigate but they never got back to us. They did give a discount on the bill but it was a lousy 20%. I would never go back to this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KAM482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great Sunday Roast!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Just had Sunday lunch at the Sergison Arms with some friends. Being Sunday we all opted for the roast dinner and as it turned out it was in the words of the Fosters advert it was a good call.
The food was very good, with generous portion sizes. Service was good, attentive but not intrusive. Having enjoyed a great dinner the bill was reasonable too. Would definitely go back:)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amanwithnoname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to be !”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Sergison Arms has only in recent years changed back to it's old name. In between times it was called The Dolphin. Having visited it just once The Dolphin just didn't have much , if any attraction, and so it finally crumbled. But today the now Sergison Arms has every right to feel good about itself. We have been there three times in the last two months and each visit was as good as the one before. There is an overall lovely ambiance from the minute you enter this charming old building. Each of the staff were warm,naturally friendly and professional, and appeared to be happy doing their work. . We ate only light meals, but again the service was very good indeed. A sweet little chappie around two and a bit, walked about for a little while, but under the watchful eye of his parents. He was not in anyway a nuisance. I wholeheartedly agree with the earlier comment where the three dads were allowing their three little ones to act in such an unacceptable way, around people trying to enjoy their meals. This is a social no-no and. But thankfully most people act responsibly in such situations, making it enjoyable to see little ones around too.

The staff could teach other restaurants a thing or two about the importance of good staff interaction with customers. A vital part of a good eating out experience. That and good food just cannot go wrong.

Well done The Sergison Arms.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The food was very average. I'm not sure the chef James Martin would eat the pie, despite putting his name to it! It had a lump of chicken in an oversized dish with a few stringy bits of ham and a pastry lid. Very salty too!

A lot of the mains had cheese in them (including said pie)! My hubby is allergic to cheese and struggled to find something he liked/wanted without cheese!

Waiter attentive but didnt know a lot about the menu.

The deserts were better than the main course.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barmymarny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sergison Arms also viewed

Hassocks, West Sussex
Crowborough, East Sussex
 
Seaford, East Sussex
Climping, Arun District
 

Been to The Sergison Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing