We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed all expectations”

Harvester The Beech Hurst
Cuisines: British, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We took our two elderly parents to the Harvester for Christmas Day Lunch as they have mobility problems and this was the only way as a family we would all be able to have lunch together. To be honest, we were expecting mass catering and pretty average food - we were wrong. We had lovely starters, none of us had the Turkey dinner - 4 ordered steaks (which I thought was taking a risk on Christmas Day) but they were cooked to perfection and very good, likewise the fish dishes, also served up hot which is important to me. The desserts were really good, very generous portions and tasty. We had been seated in a side area (which had been our choice having wheelchairs) but it was extremely draughty and after our starter we asked if the air conditioning could be turned off/up, despite efforts by the manager, barman and waitress this couldn't be done but they offered to move us to another table which we did. They re-laid the table and could not be more accommodating. The service was excellent, they ensured everything throughout meal was o.k. and Sadie our waitress was delightful. Would have no hesitation in repeating the experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gill541208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Beech Hurst, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

We are so pleased to hear that you found Harvester The Beech Hurst a good place to eat, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible and we hope you will help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 434 of 460 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

Went following recommendation from neighbours who waxed lyrical about the salad bar. To be honest although it was full, it was a very basic salad bar not like Pizza Hut's. I had a one course lunch which included the salad bar on the side, having a smallish chicken fillet burger with chips. I remember the chicken being quite dry. I however was still hungry at the end of this lunch and was salad-bar'd out so chose an ice cream which was very expensive and far too sweet with sauces and stuff. I would have preferred slightly bigger burger and a few more chips. However Harvester have been around 30 years so they must be doing something right. The restaurant is massive and was busy but I do not like its over-done interior, not pubby at all but just over-gaudy. The server girl was nice and attentive and I left a tip, However, the ice cream and the drinks made my bill a whopping £24 which is far too much for lunch, and I will not be going again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Beech Hurst, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

We are very sorry to hear that the meal you had at Harvester The Beech Hurst was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Excellent meal, great service and fantastic value for money. Despite arriving at a busy time we did not have to wait too long to be seated. I found the staff to be very accommodating, helpful and hard working.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank christine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Beech Hurst, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you found Harvester The Beech Hurst a good place to eat, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible and we hope you will help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

and made even better by the salad bar. We have tried quite a few things on the menu and all have been good. The salad bar is kept well-stocked. The staff are very helpful and pleasant.
Morning coffee is available from 11 a.m.

Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Beech Hurst, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at Harvester The Beech Hurst, and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one we have written to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

staff were really nice but unfortunately garlic mushroom chicken stack let us own. the chicken was like old boots and tasted a bit funny. the waitresses were very apologetic and changed it for a spitroast for my other half...but we'd kind of gone off the meal by then. nice well stocked salad bar anyway :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ninky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Beech Hurst, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for giving us your feedback following your recent disappointing meal at this Harvester Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvester The Beech Hurst also viewed

Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
 
Cuckfield, West Sussex
Lindfield, Haywards Heath
 
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Lindfield, Haywards Heath
 

Been to Harvester The Beech Hurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing