We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best bread for miles”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Delice - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Delice
Cuisines: French, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best bread for miles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

I go here regularly for special occasion bread. The baguettes are authentic and make you realize how bad the supermarket bread is. They also do amazing sourdough and of course cakes. I have had a couple. Of celebration mousse cakes from here for christenings and they are awesome. The owners are not very chatty, I think they are Spanish with English as a second language but they are very helpful and really know their pastries.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“genuine Continental bakery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

I have been visiting Delice since it opened and you can rely on excellent quality food. When it opened it seemed pricey but nowadays the quality reflects in the pricing and it is well worth it. The owners are friendly enough but not over enthusiastic in their greeting. Its good to have a coffee and croissant after a morning work out or to catch up with a friend and has resisted the temptation to try to compete with the chain coffee shops that have sprung up in recent years. Its a timeless classic and well worth a visit. They open early on Sundays which makes it a perfect choice for picking up fresh baked produce to have at home if you have friends staying and dont want to cook. IF you want a cake made for a special occasion its well worth the money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mendesmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Sussex
Level Contributor
172 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Proper French Pâtisserie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

O Delice is a small french pâtisserie on the High Street in Haywards Heath. I can honestly say that I have not had better baguettes anywhere in France. They are simply wonderful. This is to say nothing of the wonderful pastries they have on offer like their almond brioche, cannoli and an array of cakes and cookies.

If you are looking for a family-friendly, children running rampant coffee shop, I'd suggest Costa or Cafe Nero. But if you want to purchase high-quality French breads and pastries, you simply cannot get any better than this little gem.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrNBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Went to this place for a quick coffee and pastry before a christening. We were met with a fairly frosty welcome but the owner seemed happy to take our money in exchange for coffees etc. my wife was feeding my 5 month old daughter and I was tending to my 3 year old daughter. I nipped out of the shop momentarily only to find on my return that my wife and baby daughter had been asked to leave. My wife said the owner had stated that someone else was waiting for the seats. I confronted the man who appeared a little aggressive and said that my £8:20 mean I couldn't stay there all day. I had been there 15 minutes.
Shocked by his lack of sympathy I left feeling very disgruntled.
If I were you.........give it a swerve

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Firefighter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Incredible Pattiserie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place is outstanding. You will not find better pastries and coffee for 50 miles, at least! The service has always been a little on the minimal side, but still courteous and quick. Also excellent value. Can't recommend highly enough

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflower_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delice also viewed

Horsted Keynes, Haywards Heath
Lindfield, Haywards Heath
 
Horsted Keynes, Haywards Heath
Scaynes Hill, Haywards Heath
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing