We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very traditional and unusual dishes.... worth a try!”
Review of Kerala Kitchen - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kerala Kitchen
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
haywards heath
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very traditional and unusual dishes.... worth a try!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We used take away via just eat and got a 20% discount making it very very good value. The starters we chose were at random just to try something new and we were so pleased, we had some savoury doughnut shaped things and a pancake filled with a potato spiced mix and a curry gravy, both were shared and exceptionally yummy, grease free and special! The curry's were very yummy and you could tell less bulk made than other curry houses, they had a freshly made appeal to them and lots of flavour. Chicken was generous too. The rice was yummy, not covered in oil and not too heavily coloured. I would highly rate this to anyone who cares about getting authentic curry, not the Macdonaldlisation stuff they serve in many places. IT really was worth the try and even though the menu was smaller then normal and the dishes unusual i'd beg you to try somthing new!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carlaeliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ditchling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Authentic tasty food with delicious distinct flavours”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Kerala Kitchen isn't much to look at - being a converted cafe with fairly limited indoor table room - but it excels in its cooking and the quality and authentic cooking of fresh South Indian food. It also does takeaway/delivery. Its worth noting it is BYO for alcohol (no corkage) and there is a nice friendly independent off-licence 3 doors down.

The menu steers well clear of the "curry house standards" and concentrates on a range of specific dishes (rather than the usual mix any meat/veg with an of several sauces). As a result the dishes are balanced and flavoursome and their spices sing out on the tastebuds.

We started with a mini masal dosa (actually quite large and good as a light meal!) and masala grilled fish and these were fresh and tasty and with just the right level of spice and heat. With the main course the parathas deserved a mention for being light and grease free (all too often these are leaden lard-bombs) and the main dishes maintained the high standards.

Most times when eating Indian food I wouldn't bother with the limited, imported selection of ice creams but here the deserts are home made and traditional, and well worth saving some room for. The Wattalappam was a delicious confection of custard, spices and molasses and the payasam sang with cardomom and freshness. (They are also remarkably good value!)

All in all our meal was one of the best we'd eaten in a long while and the Kerala Kitchen is an absolute credit to authentic regional Indian cooking and is an asset to the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nji1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best takeaway around”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Fresh, good value, friendly service and fantastic food. Not your usual curry, more traditional and flavoursome and less oily! Very good!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My brother and I stumbled upon this restaurant by accident. Having family in Kerala, we are always curious to try Keralan restaurants.
The people running this restaurant are very friendly and welcoming. The restaurant is more of a take-away with a couple of tables. Having spoken with the owners, I understand that this is to change in the near future.
The food is excellent and authentic, all of the dishes on the menu are readily available in Kerala. At the time of writing, they do not have a licence for selling alcohol, but there is a very well stocked off licence two doors away and the restaurant did not charge corkage.

I hope to return to this establishment after their refurbishment as the superb food was somewhat let down by the spartan environment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SE228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kerala Kitchen also viewed

Lindfield, Haywards Heath
Horsted Keynes, Haywards Heath
 
Scaynes Hill, Haywards Heath
Lindfield, Haywards Heath
 
Lindfield, Haywards Heath
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing