We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A garden with many rooms”

Nymans Gardens and House
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A garden with many rooms”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

It was a very busy day when we visited the gardens, in fact Bank Holiday Monday. This did pose a delay in parking the car. However, the car park was well marshalled and it was made very clear where to park when a space turned up. But once we were in the gardens the crowds from the cars quickly dissipated. The gardens are made up of many different small gardens, a rose garden, a South African garden and many others portraying other plants and flowers etc. We had a picnic on the wild flower meadow which had wonderful views over the Sussex downs. The ruins of the old house lent themselves to being part of a picturesque backdrop for many shrubs, trees and plants. There is a croquet lawn where one is invited to play a round of the game, there was also an area for badminton. I thought that the herbaceous borders might be a bit past their best because we were going into September, but no, they were splendid with large blocks of colour and in very good order. There is a good National Trust shop inside, and outside there is a considerable sized area selling plants and shrubs and other gardening products. Definitely a garden that one can visit many times and on each occasion there would be a different season to enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ceciliamorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    269
    45
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm on a busy summer's day.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

While holidaying on the Sussex coast we decided as Trust members to make our first visit to Nymans. We were delighted with the beautiful borders and the charm of the House albeit a partial ruin. Even on a very busy day we easily found quiet places to sit and admire the scenery. We eat lunch in the cafe which was rather overpriced and the sandwiches were not the tastiest. That said we enjoyed our visit to Nymans Gardens.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seniorpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens very relaxing”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We decided to take my fiancée farther here as he was visiting from France. It was a really lovely afternoon and a beautiful gardens indeed. We really loved it, could be a nice wedding venue ;0)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura79_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A beautiful and calming place to visit.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Owned by the National Trust and so well cared for. The house is a partial ruin following a fire in 1947 but it is still a beautiful house. A former home built by a German businessman for his family as a retreat from London in the late Victorian period.
The house is lovely, very homely with all the original fittings. The formal gardens are well cared for and well laid out. Beyond the formal gardens (across a road) is the Wild Garden which is also beautiful with lots of rare trees.
It's extremely photogenic with lots of atmospheric photo opportunities.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaggieJo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Partridge Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful flowers and treesntry”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nymans Gardens is a very beautiful place to visit and is a National Trust property (so free entry if you're a Nat Trust member). I've been a couple of times recently as it's a lovely time of year to visit. There's a wide variety of flowers which look absolutely stunning. There's also a good range of trees, bamboos and topiary. The staff all seem delightful and are v.ery helpful. The paths around the garden are well laid out and fairly level, so this place is wheelchair-friendly. They have a cafe which looks very nice (though I haven't tried it yet) and also a nursery section and a book shop. One of the staff told me that there is a wildflower garden over the road as well as the main gardens - I wouldn't have known about this otherwise. The car park does get quite full so try to get there reasonably early. Lovely place and will visit again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nymans Gardens and House also viewed

Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
Crawley, West Sussex
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 

Been to Nymans Gardens and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing