We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart dog-friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haywards Heath
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Meeting relatives in Brighton over the Easter weekend, but not able to find a suitable hotel on the coast which would take dogs, we compromised by booking the Birch Hotel in the pleasant small town of Haywards Heath. The hotel is conveniently situated out of the centre but close enough to walk in to visit the park.
Because of the dog, we were restricted as to choice of room and were in the newer annexe. The room was not very large but comfortable and clean. The decor and furnishings were in good condition as though there had been a recent redecoration. It was a cool weekend but the room was very warm. Just one small niggle; one receptionist informed us that the dog was only allowed in the bedroom, while the next day another said that we could take her into the impressive lounge area.
The breakfasts were very good, though we wondered why there was fresh fruit as well as tinned on only one of the three mornings. The staff in the restaurant were by and large efficient and friendly. Overall we thought it was good value, especially if compared with London hotels and certainly justified the short drive to the coast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 433 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed before and looked dated, but now a different place, clean, excellent staff and comfortable rooms, quality breakfast and value for money. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for overall value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Bobplimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed in the Birch Hotel for 1 night and have recieved a very poor service from the hotel staff. They made a mistake when checking us in giving wrong rate information and then didn't want to admit it. No appologies or refund was offered.

I would't advise anyone to stay in this hotel in general. The rooms are very small and the deco needs updating. The staff is unfriendly and unhelpful. There are better hotels around the same location with better value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

On check in we organised with the hotel manager to have early continental breakfast with another large group of people as we were running the Brighton marathon. He insisted it was included in our room rate. 6:30 the following morning the night porter, Nomar, insisted we paid £12 per person for the toast and coffee as he kept saying it was not included in our rate. He was very rude to all of us treating us like liars. His best line was: "I will charge you £12 because I can". I believe people like Nomar should not work face to face with public. It was a little too late when the receptionist who changed shift at 7 apologized and offered free breakfast while we were on our way out to our race.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank Laura-it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This hotel is great and my room(302) was perfect and there was no noise except when the person in room next door used bathroom, the fan was very noisy and rattled and disturbed me 3 times during my first night. I used ear plugs for my second night. Otherwise my stay couldn't have been better.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haywards Heath
4.4 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
503 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Hickstead Hotel
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Burgess Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
570 reviews
9.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Henfield
107 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Birch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Birch Hotel

Address: Lewes Road, Haywards Heath RH17 7SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Haywards Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haywards Heath
Price Range: $116 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Birch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birch Hotel is located in the West Sussex town of Haywards Heath , 3 miles from Burgess Hill, 18 miles from Brighton and 15 miles from Gatwick Airport. The original building was built in c.1874 And still retains some of the original features, including oak panelling in the lounge area and stained glass windows on the main staircase. The Birch Hotel has undergone extensive refurbishment over the last few years making it the perfect venue for business or leisure. The main facilities of The Birch Hotel are: 51 en-suite bedrooms, all with Free wired internet access, 6 Conference rooms ideal for interviewing up to theatre style for 60 persons, (all rooms have wireless internet access), 3 banqueting rooms suitable for the small family celebration from 10 guests up to 80 guests for a seated reception. The Birch Hotel is licensed for Civil and Partnership ceremonies. The Birch offers the Courtyard resytaurant or our new modern Bistro Bar for dining .On site free carpark with a small side garden. The Hotel is Non Smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western The Birch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Haywards Heath
Haywards Heath Best Western
Best Western The Birch Hotel Haywards Heath, West Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing