We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in a hotel with character”
Review of The Birch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Birch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haywards Heath
Reviewed February 10, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 434 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

The room wasn't ready when I arrived (at 6.pm), I waited an hour for dinner, they forgot the starter when it did come and the decor of the bar is out of keeping with the rest of the hotel ...... BUT: the receptionist gave me an upgraded room straight away, the dinner was delicious, they discounted my bill substantially and the manager came and found me the following morning to apologise (and all the staff were friendly and polite). So, in all honesty, not the best stay in a hotel I have ever had, but I'll certainly give them another chance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night only. The room was very small and hot and the bathroom was not the modern bathroom the pictures show. It was an old bathroom suite with bath and over-bath shower head with shower curtain - certainly not the walk in shower showing in the photos. Each room on our floor seemed to have the same bathroom as we looked in a few others so not sure where the bathroom pictured is situated. Overall, the hotel was okay for one night stay. I ordered scrambled egg and salmon for breakfast. It was an extremely small portion and only had a few bits of salmon in it. The hotel is situated quite a walk from the town centre so not driving is not an option.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarphati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

A reasonable hotel, but now looking a little tired and in need of some TLC. The room was OK and the bed comfortable, but I was disappointed with the restaurant both for the evening meal and breakfast. The reception staff were excellent and the lady who served my evening meal was friendly and efficient, but the food was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redeye38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I've never really been a Best Western fan and I wasn't looking forward to my stay, but this hotel really did exceed my expectations. When I arrived there was plenty of car parking, even though the hotel had many guests. Check in was very efficient and pleasant, extraordinarily quick to be honest, which is just perfect for me. Room was nice, very spacious, with loads of plug sockets next to the desk that was great for working on. No iron in the room, and toiletries weren't really anything to write home about, but at least they offered some. The bed was the best thing about the room absolutely fantastic, really comfy!! Duvet was a bit thin, but room was lovely and warm so not really a problem. Service in the bar, restaurant and at reception for check out was also pretty impressive, friendly and efficient. Restaurant food was nice, although the bar menu looked pretty good too and was a more informal dining option that most guests seemed to be opting for. Generally speaking, the hotel isn't going to win any design awards any time soon, but all in all, I had a really good experience and would visit this hotel again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank LveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed here on the night of our wedding, even though we live in Haywards Heath. We had already checked in earlier in the day and they kindly stored our bags for us, we arrived around midnight and went to our room, large room with a lovely shower, had a great nights sleep and would stay again if we needed to.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Blondey_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Very average and forgettable hotel, though there is a beautiful staircase and guest reading room to enjoy.
Very willing but under trained mostly east european staff who try their best in the restaurant.
I made the mistake of having dinner there, the menu was totally uninspiring as was the food.
Very poor wine list.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus_Clark_Lamorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haywards Heath
2.7 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Hickstead Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
7.2 mi away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
576 reviews
9 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Birch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Birch Hotel

Address: Lewes Road, Haywards Heath RH17 7SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Haywards Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haywards Heath
Price Range: $118 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Birch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birch Hotel is located in the West Sussex town of Haywards Heath , 3 miles from Burgess Hill, 18 miles from Brighton and 15 miles from Gatwick Airport. The original building was built in c.1874 And still retains some of the original features, including oak panelling in the lounge area and stained glass windows on the main staircase. The Birch Hotel has undergone extensive refurbishment over the last few years making it the perfect venue for business or leisure. The main facilities of The Birch Hotel are: 51 en-suite bedrooms, all with Free wired internet access, 6 Conference rooms ideal for interviewing up to theatre style for 60 persons, (all rooms have wireless internet access), 3 banqueting rooms suitable for the small family celebration from 10 guests up to 80 guests for a seated reception. The Birch Hotel is licensed for Civil and Partnership ceremonies. The Birch offers the Courtyard resytaurant or our new modern Bistro Bar for dining .On site free carpark with a small side garden. The Hotel is Non Smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Birch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Haywards Heath
Haywards Heath Best Western
The Birch Hotel Haywards Heath, West Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing