We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rating on food only as this was a takeaway”

Nizam Indian Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rating on food only as this was a takeaway”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Samoosa as expected, very nice.
Murgh-Jhul, nice but far from the best I've tasted.
Sag Paneer, aweful really, very vinegary and the taste of the cheese was lost to this.
Papadam & mosalla papadums very nice, crisp and obviously freshly cooked.

Summary: will try again with a different dish but after first takeaway from here my expectations aren't that high.

Oh, online ordering via their website an absolute plus point!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    41
    15
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pricey but nicey!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Among the very best of Indians that I have visited with excellent flavours in the cooking. It is about 25% more expensive than others locally however, therefore 4 stars. We go occasionally, but would go regularly if it were more reasonable.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank avdow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Slow Service, Great Food, Small Portions!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We decided to go here on Saturday night hungry. That was our first mistake! We arrived at 1915 and finally received our starters at 1955! 40 mins for Samosa. Our Main Course finally arrived at 2040, but as we hadn't been here in a while and was used to our local takeaway (big portions). We ordered 2 mains, 1 rice and 1 Nan bread and the portions were small. We didn't order anymore food because we were so fed up of waiting. The service is good, when you get it, but they seem to concentrate on their takeaway service! There were a few people complaining about not getting their drinks, wrong bills and waiting food etc. The food excellent and small portions, however if you go here on a Saturday night, arrive after 9pm when the takeaway service has died down.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best in our town”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Like the Nizam. It's well decorated and maintained and service is good. I'm surprised at review which comments on rude service as I have eaten there with family, children, same sex large group, birthday group and the waiting staff have adapted and added to the evening. It's relatively expensive but is in centre of town, feels like a night out and the food is good. The caveat I would add is in London or somewhere with more Indian restaurants the nizam would be pretty average for food and the prices would deter but in HH it gets away with charges as best Indian for a night out. ( curry inn gives it a run for food but nizam has nicer ambience)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Went with a large group of friends, Service was good (we were a bit late, staff were very accommodating) and food was good. A few of my friends rave about this place, but basically it is a standard (and good) curry house that has ditched the flock wallpaper, had a make over, and come up with some slightly different dishes.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yard73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nizam Indian Restaurant also viewed

Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Cuckfield, West Sussex
 

Been to Nizam Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing