We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet to be disappointed at the Victory” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victory Inn

Victory Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Yet to be disappointed at the Victory”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Victory Inn at Staplefield is a quaint little pub that serves very good food. I have had both lunch and dinner here several times over the last couple of years and have yet to be disappointed.
We went here on Saturday evening with friends and enjoyed some very good food.The menu is varied offering pub classics such as fish and chips along with more interesting fare like smoked haddock scotch egg. There is always a good selection on the specials board where last night trout and tuna steak were on offer along with a chicken and tomato curry and lamb burger.
Our shared tapas starter was excellent with delicious jambon and olives also patatas bravas and garlic prawns. The lamb loin chops were perfectly cooked though perhaps the pea and broad bean puree was slightly underseasoned. Lamb and apricot pie was a success and only the lamb burger received a slightly negative vote because it was a little dry. We didn't have dessert as the starters were pretty generous.
Service wasn't speedy but being a sunny, summer Saturday evening the place was packed and we were more than happy to chat with our friends and enjoy the very good bottle of sauvignon blanc. Staff were attentive and eager to please.
We will definitely be returning to the Victory Inn with friends and family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank toasty754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    49
    13
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cracking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Superb choice of well presented home cooked English and Spanish foods and great beers. Lovely garden to the rear with the village green opposite the front.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank IanBuckeridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect for a summer's evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I ate here on a Friday evening in May.
It was a late decision, but a good one.
We sat out side, had a drink and some nuts from the bar (they were amazing!)
We ordered the food, it came promptly.
The staff were friendly, especially with the dig.
Food was wholesome and hearty.
We will definitely go back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSussexTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outdoor buzz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We ate here one Friday evening, and would thoroughly recommend it! The sun was shining for once, so we sat outside and enjoyed the atmosphere. Nice menu, with plenty of variety. Food came reasonably quickly - and there seemed to be plenty of people around us enjoying their food too! We had our dog with us, and the staff were happy to make a fuss of him every time they passed - he was in heaven!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank francesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

What a fantastic place to eat. Looks very unassuming from the outside and like a locals pub on the inside.
Food was delicious, great choice and reasonably priced.
Staff are friendly and polite.
An all round good experience and we will be back again at the end of the week!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paminthecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victory Inn also viewed

Staplefield, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
Lindfield, Haywards Heath
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
Handcross, West Sussex
Handcross, West Sussex
 

Been to Victory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing