We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its impossible to Fault”

The Coach and Horses
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
london
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Its impossible to Fault”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I may be local and the bias could be there, but I feel this pub has an amazing country feel with an exceptional beer garden in summer whereas in winter the place has a cosy, warm and inviting feel. the meals are always fantastic offering a great choice of wines...the staff are very welcoming!
Its has to be my favourite pub and am blessed its my local too....keep up the great work!

if you are in London etc its about an hour away and worth the visit!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CheesygrinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    74
    16
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ilminster
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great old-fashioned country pub”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

It's quite rare to find a pub these days that still has genuine olde worlde charm, but this is a lovely example. Lovely country pub with excellent food, not the cheapest but very good quality and extremely friendly and helpful service by everyone we came across. Would definitely recommend..

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rovingspringfielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Good service and tasty, well cooked food. We met friends (table of 4) today at The Coach and Horses. The staff were very friendly and polite. The food was delicious at a reasonable price. We had eaten the day before at Blanc Brasserie at Gunwharf Quays and the food there wasn't nearly as good as this little place! The drinks were reasonably priced too as was the wine.
A pretty country setting. The garden looked pretty and look forward to returning on a warmer, sunnier day to enjoy that too! Definitely returning soon and highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barmymarny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very very nice...”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We popped into this 'pub' randomly and starving. We were greater with a lovely smile, great customer service, good food with good portion sizes. If your passing I'd definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This pub was recommended to us by the B&B we were staying at, we had a bit of a drive round to find it, but it was worth the effort. Two small bars, we sat next to the open log fire , a friendly girl behind the bar produced a small menu with specials on the chalk board. Our order was slow in coming but this was was compensated for by free focaccia with olives and oil. When our meal arrived wow ! well worth the wait very well presented , beautifully cooked and packed with flavour.
We will be returning , well done .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david_fifield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coach and Horses also viewed

Lindfield, Haywards Heath
Horsted Keynes, Haywards Heath
 
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Lindfield, Haywards Heath
 

Been to The Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing