We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food in an empty soul destroying atmosphere”
Review of Kingfish

Kingfish
Restaurant details
Haywards Heath
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor food in an empty soul destroying atmosphere”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Took my Dad for a fish and chip supper for a treat after an operation.....so let down....It wasn't worth providing feedback to the waitress at the time as she wouldn't have been interested. Best feedback is to never return.

Dirty table cloth, salt granules...table clearly not cleaned for a while. There were more chips in a McDonalds happy meal than there were on our plate and what we had was made up of bits . Fish looked like it was out of findus box.

Recommendation would be ..... travel a little further to Bankers in Brighton for a much better meal and more value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L0nd0nC0mmuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    9
    13
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A good retro dinner”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you fancy a fish and chip supper this is the place to go. A very clean restaurant offering take away but the sometimes little used restaurant is good value and it makes a change from the usual.
The service is good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gotski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Food OK but not exceptional & over priced. As there are other fish & chip shops within a very short distance, we will not be eating from here gain.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biddy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“I will never go to king fish again.....EVER!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just been to king fish for a takeaway, miserable lady working, large chips was more like a small , overall quality of food was poor. Well over priced . Never ever will I depart with my money for such a disappointing dinner again!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danross2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Falling along with the deserted shops to let.”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

First thing to mention the LARGE haddock was what you expect a OAP to order apart from a £5 increase for no extra size of fillet, being given the very top part of a entire fillet which could fit in the palm of my hand with no overlap.
But still costing £6.90.
And the fish itself hadn't been given time to sit and drain do therefor having a tray of grease which I guess they expect me to drink for the price of it.
It hasn't happened before just like the chips being half cooked and the fluffy centre being the texture of rice pudding instea.
Followed by burnt garlic bread.
And curry sauce many chip shops have variations but at least others cook out there spices and not leaveing a flour texture to it.
Instead of focusing on outside seating and a empty restaurant go to the source of the problem the food itself.
I am moving next week and even if I wasn't this would still be the last time I'll ever visit the kingfisher under these standards.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TopChef101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfish also viewed

Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Lindfield, Haywards Heath
 

Been to Kingfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing