We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Blond Waitress was nice .....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Chef

Little Chef
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Fontwell
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Blond Waitress was nice .....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Lovely young girl waitressing not sure what the rest of the staff (about 10 of them) were there for. She seemed the only one taking an interest in the place. Whilst all the males seem to taking an interest in her.

Ordered a starter, first it came out too cold and then burning hot without warning.

The mains was mediocre at best, not the worst I have had, but I won't be running back here anytime soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rey-Latorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    18
    14
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Untidy surroundings which did not look that clean. Food was pretty awful. Would not return there. While waiting for our food we spied a lovely local pub across the road and went there after eating for a drink. The food in this establishment looked scumptious.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HarleyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“not as good as last time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

nipped in here for lunch today and when we came in we stood for a very long time waiting to be seen to by the wait here to be seated sign and we decided to just sit down. Waited again for someone to take the order, we waited 25 mins for the food. The beefburger was not very hot, bun was cold, chips were overcooked. Prawn Tempura in light batter was really "tiny tiny prawns in soggy undercooked heavy battery stuff" (although they didn't charge for this as we complained). The staff were friendly and tried hard but just did not deliver to expectations. We have previously eaten here and been satisfied with the food so this was a real disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little Chef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We ate breakfast twice in the Little Chef and found the food very good and very reasonable, the place was clean & tidy and the staff very friendly, not many tables a person in a wheelchair can sit, but kind people moved to another table.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unacceptable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Used services here and slipped on very wet floor in ladies' toilet which was swamped with water in part due - apparently - to a leaky pipe
Not only is this a health and safety issue, it is also a food hygiene issue. Assistant Manager - though pleasant - didn't grasp the seriousness of the situation and said that it had been like it all day. Yuk!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Chef also viewed

Fontwell, West Sussex
Walberton, Arun District
 
Arundel, Arun District
Hickstead, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to Little Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing