We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Variable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Stables

The Old Stables
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Fontwell
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Old Stables in Fontwell is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Variable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We used to eat here every few weeks when we lived in Eastergate; it's right next to Fontwell Racecourse and there's a Travelodge in the car park, so it can get quite busy. Very nice pub garden.

Having eaten there a number of times, my general comment is that the food was pretty variable which probably accounts for the wide range of reviews here. Sometimes it would be bang on, at others it was very average, which may be something that they are currently addressing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mersonfanclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    101
    55
    51
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Over priced food, quite disappointed ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice cosy feel to pub, service was fast but the food was nothing special, and VERY over priced and small portions. We had sharing platter £11.95 which was really disappointing, anti pasta £2.95 which consisted of 1 salami, 1 Parma ham and 2 pepperoni chips £2.95 we had 8! they were lovely chucky chips but at that price they should be! won't be going again in a hurry!

Helpful?
Thank Georgina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance overpriced food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This pub has a nice country feel to it with nice atmosphere, inglenook fire nice cosy place in the winter. We decided to order the sharers platter along with some onion rings and chips and for the price we were dissapointed the smallest bowl of chips, onion rings were very greasy and the sharing platter was pretty average, and bulked up by putting loads of bread on the plate, wouldn't eat in there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ruthd1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
Level Contributor
147 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent value and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We often stay in the nearby Travelodge and this restaurant is very convenient. We have eaten here numerous times with somewhat mixed reactions but it was quickly apparent that the restaurant is under new management. We were impressed with the efficient yet pleasant manner of the manager, Paul, who explained the changes he had made, both to the menu and the staff. We were well looked after during this and our subsequent visits during our stay. The food is varied and well presented with choices to suit every taste.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PBY54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Food ok, service really good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Was staying in the Travelodge next door and went here with the kids for a meal. Food for children was fine and reasonably priced. My beef and Merlot pie was all pastry and very little else, a bit disappointing to be honest. Service very good and I must admit the Peanut butter chocolate cheesecake is a must

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DarrenSandhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Stables also viewed

Climping, Arun District
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Hassocks, West Sussex
Littlehampton, Arun District
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Fontwell, West Sussex
 

Been to The Old Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing