We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terriffic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2014

We chose Bailiffscourt for a very special family meal and were very impressed with the location. Pre-dinner drinks were served in one of the many small rooms in the downstairs maze of corridors - nice comfy chairs and good privacy, which we very much appreciated.

The service was truly excellent - friendly and unobtrusive.

I'm going to be slightly critical here - my duck was a little overcooked and my Daughter found her risotto 'a little lacking in flavour'. These are not things I would normally remark on, but this is not a cheap place to eat and I did have high expectations of the food.

We would certainly return for another special occasion, but I think I would keep an eye out for special offers in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,039)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2014

We had a very nice 'superior' room (that we had also had on a previous occasion) but the really special thing was the lighting of the log fire in our bedroom on a chilly night. The paper and kindling was laid, ready to light, the log basket was full so we lit up and enjoyed toasting ourselves by the fire! We had enjoyed a good meal in the dining room but the fire made it very special. Breakfast the next morning was fine except the coffee. A word to the waiter and a beautiful coffee was produced.
The staff were very helpful in all areas of the hotel. The swim in the spa pool was invigorating.
It was a perfect stay - and better still - my wife treated me!

Room Tip: Get a Superior Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Horsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

My 1st visit was where my sister was getting ready for her wedding. Although she did get married at goodwood this place was stunning and was not chosen just because of the amount if guests we had coming. What an amazing place so stunning and the staff were amazing polite and made my sister feel special. They even let us take photos in the grounds even though we weren't getting married there. very clean rooms and def would come back. the grounds are just amazing to take some pictures.

Stayed: September 2014
Thank Sdennis1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We have visited Baliffscourt for lunch on many occasions and always really enjoy the ambience, the food, the house gardens and the beach. Sunday lunch and afternoon tea yesterday was such a treat, the staff were entertaining, food superb and having been here now so often it is so relaxing we didn't want to leave. One day we will come and stay and experience the spa, as it was we didn't leave until after 6pm.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaLaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

My husband and I plus small dog spent one night half board at this wonderful hotel by the sea. It was very traditional old England. The room was spacious and luxurious in the new building and we overlooked the surrounding fields. it was very quiet. The food and service was outstanding we tried the tasting menu accompanied by the recommended glasses with each course. We were well looked after in the restaurant by Franc. The breakfast was also excellent. The Spa has both an indoor and outdoor pool with two Jacuzzi, gym and upstairs rest room to read papers, watch TV and complimentary tea/ coffee. Our dog even had rice and chicken delivered to the room for dinner. It was a relaxing stay and felt like home.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our spacious luxury room in the new building with the windows open overlooking the fields...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JacquiP1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

My friend and I stopped on the way home for afternoon cream tea after a day out in Brighton. It was OK but nothing spectacular and the scones although warm were a bit dry. We had two scones each and plenty of jam and cream. We were also offered a choice of teas. We sat in one of their lounges which was a bit pokey. £8.95 each.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank BobH764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We have returned again to this wonderful Spa hotel just a few minutes from our home. Full of character, stunning gardens, individual rooms and amazing spa facilities. We booked dinner, bed and breakfast for one night. The room had an open fire which we utilised during our stay as the weather was awful and chilly during the British August bank holiday weekend. The dinner was a little below our expectations, especially for the price. Bread, olives and oil came after the starter. The olives looked as though they had been left out for some time. The potato rosti was burnt (with smoked salmon) The main course (crab risotto) was warm rather than hot...but overall the ambience was superb and staff lovely so we didn't complain. If we had been asked how our meal was we would have given feedback but we weren't...so we didn't. We love this hotel so would always recommend it, but the food wasn't up to its usual standard.

Room Tip: Every room is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joedwards82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Climping
14.7 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
23.8 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
20.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
333 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,119 reviews
12.3 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailiffscourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailiffscourt Hotel

Address: Climping Street, Climping BN17 5RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Climping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Price Range: $318 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailiffscourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bailiffscourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailiffscourt Hotel Climping, West Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing