We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Medieval Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Medieval Gem”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is my first stay at the dog friendly Hotel. The staff is super professional, nothing is too much and your wish is always granted. Our dog had her own bowl and place mat provided. Ab fab. As we have a dog we ate in the different lounges, all beautifully decorated, furnished and the food is superb. Either a snack, tea a drink or dinner. There is always food available,- what a joy.
The outside area is fantastic with lush flora and fauna. There is a path to the beach and you can walk around the Hotel.
There is nothing negative to say about this wonderful place. It is a spectacular hide away, a medieval built house with gorgeous gardens. Plenty of parking space as well.
I can't wait to go back and will definitely tell all my friends about it.
Most importantly what makes a great Hotel is the STAFF. Thank you all for making this stay a very enjoyable ONE.

Room Tip: You can choose the medieval part or the modern ones, who have air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joycedano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    240
    113
    56
    26
See reviews for
182
558
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed with our two children and puppy for a short break. The dog was given his own bowl and treats and not just tolerated but welcomed. The area outside our room had a large grass courtyard to let him walk off the lead. He loved the field at the back of the hotel with a walk to the beach. The children loved the swings, croquet, and outdoor games. Their room was medieval and interesting ours was more modern , both fitted out with plenty of space and good bathrooms. The spa was a real treat with a wonderful hour and a half facial being practically free as I had two £50 vouchers from the hotel for booking a Sunday spa package. The food was really good and although the service was very slow on the first night the restaurant manager asked what we thought and made sure it improved after that. I was on crutches and all the staff were helpful, sending ice to the room to help my swollen ankle. We had a great stay and will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fluffy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Quirky, eccentric or a folly, all words that describe this Hotel and I have rated accordingly because I embrace what it is. At times you feel some reviewers want an odd hotel on the outside and a state of the art one inside; you will get the former but forget the latter. The Hotel caters for children but personally I do not think it is really suitable for them. There are often complaints about the restricted pool times for children but for the majority of guests that is a blessing in disguise as once the children enter the water the whole dynamics change and anyone wanting to lazily swim a few lengths to cool down will find a substantial log jam with their introduction. When free of children the whole pool and lounger area becomes a beautiful place to laze and un-wind. The Achilles Heel at the moment is Dining. The waiting time between courses can stretch to 30 mins which shows a lack of rapport between kitchen and the head waiter and his team and also highlights the lack of experience with some of the young waiters and waitresses all of whom were very polite and helpful but appeared short of intense training. The sister Hotel, Ockendon Manor, have the relationship between head waiter and kitchen working very smoothly with the support waiters confident in handling orders and dealing with the diners. My only concern as the evening meal is often the end to an otherwise excellent day.

Room Tip: In hot weather ensure they supply a fan and also it would be wise to bring an additional one of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Although only built a century ago of medieval stone brought from elsewhere, the atmosphere is most pleasant and relaxing, with very friendly helpful staff. Breakfast in the courtyard, and mid-afternoon tea or a pre-prandial drink in the rose garden were especial pleasures. Large comfortable bedroom and excellent chef who produced well-designed well-presented original very high quality dinner dishes. Modern fully-equipped spa for pampering, including lovely indoor and heated outdoor swimming pools. A few minutes walk to a stony but sparsely populated beach. A few miles to an old-style English seaside town with sandy beach and promenade at Littlehampton, and not much further in the other direction to the delightful old cathedral town of Chichester with its excellent Pallant Gallery, but a few days without leaving the hotel grounds would be very enjoyable. Quite expensive but overall a real treat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuidoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Afternoon Tea today in the rose garden. We did not want to leave. Open to non residents for lunches dinner & afternoon tea. Always special. The grounds are stunning. It's close to Clymping beach. And even if you don't stay (which I recommend you do) it's a lovely place to have a tea. They have a great menu & also have a cheaper weekday lunch. If you drive past it when you go to Clymping & think I wonder what it's like. Go in. You won't be disappointed. We went just because we love it. And it's special.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I spent one night at Bailiffscourt with a friend last week. It was my fourth or perhaps even fifth visit and i return because it is one if the most relaxing places I have ever stayed.
I love it and will continue to visit. However, I do think the quality now is not what it was five years ago when I first discovered it.
The spa remains top notch, but treatments vary wildly depending on which therapist you are allocated.
The light lunches in the spa are fresh and good. However, the main event (evening meal) is no better than average in spite of the lovely surroundings and charming staff.
Come on Bailiffscourt... Get a grip!
D

Room Tip: Choose a room with a log fire!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilys F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We were treated to a fabulous meal for our friends birthday. The venue is full of interest and surprises. We have lived in the area for 4 years and didn't know about this little gem. The food was first class and the staff extremely helpful. Will definitely go again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Climping
14.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
23.8 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
20.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,999 reviews
4.8 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
312 reviews
14.1 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailiffscourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailiffscourt Hotel

Property: Bailiffscourt Hotel
Address: Climping Street, Climping BN17 5RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Climping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailiffscourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Bailiffscourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailiffscourt Hotel Climping, West Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing