We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel good but food appalling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Am in middle of Xmas package; hotel atmosphere, rooms, spa etc good but the food is a disgrace! To start with there is no provenance. That is always a dead giveaway to me; if a restaurant is proud of its food then it tells you where it is from. We come from the southwest and no restaurant down there would serve you mussels without telling you what river they came from! Here there is no mention of provenance which makes me think they are a little ashamed. The turkey dinner could have been turkey - I don't really know; it was some sort of rolled, sliced rubber covered in a liquid that was predominately salt. How can they charge the prices they do for such poor quality food? Lidl's turkey would be better. We have the Boxing Day Gala dinner to get through yet. Sorry guys but the food has been a real disappointment and has pretty much spoiled our expensive Xmas treat.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building, be prepared for small beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,039)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had a lovely room with an open fire and a "secret tunnel" to the main house which made for a very special break. Only criticism was the narrow bath made taking a shower a bit precarious, perhaps a grab handle would help when getting in and out?
As a nice touch, when we were leaving a member of staff who was obviously proud of the hotel, very kindly offered to show us some of the other rooms that we're not in use at the time. I am sure we will stay again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moleaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Took my mum to Bailiffscourt Spa as a birthday treat. As we drove up the drive we we're amazed by the beauty of the place and loved the olde world charm. We received a warm welcome by the reception staff. Mum and I were having 'The morning retreat' package and we were promptly offered a choice of juices, and shown all the important areas of the spa prior to using the facilities. The only downside to the spa were the changing rooms, they were too small and layout didn't work, just not enough space, too many ladies trying to get changed or dressed and there was only one toilet. It felt rather cramped and we all kept getting in the way of each including trying to access our lockers this was disappointing as we felt this let the experience down. However, on up side, the beauty therapists were very friendly and professional. Mum and I both had a back, neck and shoulder massage treatment, which was wonderful, the therapists were very attentive. Very relaxing as it should be and we loved the waterbed experience! We finished our morning with a tasty two course lunch in the hotel, we thought this was nice, but to some people, one might think perhaps the menu is rather limited. Overall we had a wonderful day, but next time we will take warmer clothes and boots to so go a stroll around the place including checking out Climping beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blueneedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

After seeing this hotel some years ago whilst walking on Climping beach, and being intrigued by it's history (it is mock medieval, built in the last century) my friend and I stayed recently for just one night, taking advantage of the spa offer. Our twin bedded room was lovely with two four poster beds, a cosy open fire and lots of room. The weather was awful (who cares?!) but luckily, the rooms, which are in separate buildings around the estate, are linked via a tunnel to the main area where the bars and dining area are.

All the staff were spot on, managing to combine excellent professionalism with genuine warmth and friendliness - whoever does their recruiting and training, keep on doing what you're doing!

My only gripe (and I feel mean even mentioning this) was that during a lovely relaxing treatment upstairs in the spa, the noise from the men's changing room directly below was totally disruptive from really shouty kids.
Now, I love kids, but in a spa I wish parents would take into consideration that the majority of guests/members really value the tranquility (isn't that rather the point?!) and therefore take appropriate steps to curb their little darlings enthusiasm.

That said, the therapist dealt with it well, going downstairs to ask them to be quiet but I'd suggest that in future,during family times, treatment rooms near the changing/public areas are NOT used - up until then I'd really enjoyed my massage and whilst I appreciate that the hotel cannot make kids behave, they can ensure that there are quiet areas for treatments.

The food was wonderful and dinner felt like an event (and again, very friendly) with breakfast laid out buffet style with orders taken for hot food.

We had a lovely (albeit brief time) and will definitely be back - I'd give the trip 5* were it not for the noisy spa but thanks for a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for a medieval style room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eggweena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Bailiffscourt is welcoming, friendly and unstuffy but exudes luxury in every way. It feels like a visit to a friend's country house and all the main rooms are designed for easy relaxation. The food was excellent and presented beautifully. Log fires in all the rooms and soft lighting create a relaxing ambience. The bedrooms are in individual "houses" and are peaceful, large and well appointed. The spa is wonderful - warm outdoor pool and hot tub and a quiet relaxing area around the indoor pool. The sun beds have seen better days and the mattresses thin but that is a minor complaint! The grounds are lovely and the rather dreary beach of Climping 5 minutes through the grounds.

Room Tip: all the rooms are wonderful and can't imagine any wouldn't be up to the high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindanaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

It is hard to imagine just how special this hotel is without experiencing the charms( and some are really really quirky, such as the secret underground passage or the court yard for summer evenings to eat out doors...).

You can roam from quirky room to room, have tea in one room then play cards or sonnoker in others......

Menu is good BUT the wine is over priced - this is one area that lets the hotel down

Room Tip: Check the heating first - rooms can be too hot !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binsybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed at Bailiffscourt for the weekend in the amazing feature room 'Baylies' and have to say that it was lovely. The room has a lovely four poster bed, lounge area and a beautiful bathroom with TWO roll top baths!! The food and general ambience of the hotel was very special and the staff were excellent, welcoming and very professional. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting that something different, or a romantic weekend away....Fantastic!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Climping
14.7 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
23.8 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
20.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
333 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,119 reviews
12.3 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailiffscourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailiffscourt Hotel

Address: Climping Street, Climping BN17 5RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Climping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Price Range: $318 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailiffscourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bailiffscourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailiffscourt Hotel Climping, West Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing