We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have just come back from the most amazing weekend break. Our room was perfect, a contemporary superior room away rom the main hotel. The service was exceptional. Everyone we encountered went out of their way to help. I spent the whole of Sunday in the spa being pampered by Emily, Anita & Charlotte and they were all excellent therapists. The young French manager in the restaurant went out of his way to make sure my food was gluten free.
I can't fault anything about this hotel and will recommend it and will come back soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanSan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    239
    113
    54
    26
See reviews for
179
553
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had a marvellous 3 night stop here and really enjoyed it. Service very good and room lovely. Could not eat dinner in the restaurant due to it being so busy with Goodwood bookings but enjoyed all the other facilities. Really like the fact that staff upheld the children rule in the spa pool so that it was a place of calm for adults for most of the day - as a spa should be. Really could not fault stay in any way!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My elderly mother (with mobility issues), my sister over from California, whose birthday it was, and me stayed 3/4 August anqd had the most lovely time. As always Baillifscourt is extraordinarily beautiful, particulalry on a warm English summer weekend, this makes it very special, but what really makes it prfct is the way we had the most wonderful, personalised service that made us feel we were treasured guests. Nothing was too much trouble, every single member of staff was delightful and helpful and as concerned for our well being. We had treatments at the spa and swam and used the jacuzzi. It really is the most prefect place. It is pricey, but worth vey penny. We will be back - I wouldn't go anywhere else.

Room Tip: We like the old rooms in the main house or "guest house". It really does feel like you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vmaxdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Now am wondering if we were just lucky yesterday, but we had tea in the garden after a trip to the beach, and excellent service from the lovely kilted French waiter, and a young charming French waiter. Sometimes in the past we haven't been so fortunate. The tea itself was adequate, scones a little dry, sandwiches fine, and ample supply of cakes. It's not cheap, but with the dreamy surroundings, on a lovely sunny day, it is a treat

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank OldieDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here as part of our ruby wedding celebrations and we were delighted with the experience. The staff were all very attentive and happy to help without being intrusive. We had a great room, thanks to a complimentary upgrade, and it was well appointed. Luckily the weather was perfect so we were able to stroll to the beach and then use the outdoor swimming pool. We enjoyed drinks in the garden in the evening sun before going in for dinner. We elected to have the chef's tasting menu which was wonderful, fantastic flavours and presentation although I'm sure I ate too much. The spa facilities were good and I even went for a swim before breakfast (to compensate for over eating at dinner) We would visit here again although the fact that you have to go outside to reach the spa and the outside rooms probably makes it not so attractive in bad weather. However having the buildings scattered round the grounds is part of the charm of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Nice but very dated very small room and expensive. Dinner to rich and fussy, I have eaten in various nice restaurants but this was disappointing and left me hungry. The Best thing was the service. Also they do not cater for children I had my 9 year old daughter with me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAlger, General Manager at Bailiffscourt Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We have 39 rooms spread over 7 different houses, indeed some are smaller than others, some have 4 posters and fire places and others air conditioning, I would always advise calling us to discuss your requirements so we can ensure we organise the most suitable room for you. Regarding the menu choices, we are more than willing to prepare simpler dishes on request and I am not sure what went wrong as we do have a Children's menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel earlier this week for two nights and had a wonderful stay.
Beautiful and peaceful location. Room was well appointed and comfortable with an amazing shower. Food was delicious. We found the staff attentive and friendly. The hotel was a delight and we would readily visit again. We did not visit the spa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Climping
23.8 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
14.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
20.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,973 reviews
4.8 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailiffscourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailiffscourt Hotel

Property: Bailiffscourt Hotel
Address: Climping Street, Climping BN17 5RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Climping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailiffscourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Bailiffscourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailiffscourt Hotel Climping, West Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing