We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service this time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent service this time”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Now am wondering if we were just lucky yesterday, but we had tea in the garden after a trip to the beach, and excellent service from the lovely kilted French waiter, and a young charming French waiter. Sometimes in the past we haven't been so fortunate. The tea itself was adequate, scones a little dry, sandwiches fine, and ample supply of cakes. It's not cheap, but with the dreamy surroundings, on a lovely sunny day, it is a treat

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank OldieDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    240
    113
    56
    26
See reviews for
182
557
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chichester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here as part of our ruby wedding celebrations and we were delighted with the experience. The staff were all very attentive and happy to help without being intrusive. We had a great room, thanks to a complimentary upgrade, and it was well appointed. Luckily the weather was perfect so we were able to stroll to the beach and then use the outdoor swimming pool. We enjoyed drinks in the garden in the evening sun before going in for dinner. We elected to have the chef's tasting menu which was wonderful, fantastic flavours and presentation although I'm sure I ate too much. The spa facilities were good and I even went for a swim before breakfast (to compensate for over eating at dinner) We would visit here again although the fact that you have to go outside to reach the spa and the outside rooms probably makes it not so attractive in bad weather. However having the buildings scattered round the grounds is part of the charm of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Nice but very dated very small room and expensive. Dinner to rich and fussy, I have eaten in various nice restaurants but this was disappointing and left me hungry. The Best thing was the service. Also they do not cater for children I had my 9 year old daughter with me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAlger, General Manager at Bailiffscourt Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We have 39 rooms spread over 7 different houses, indeed some are smaller than others, some have 4 posters and fire places and others air conditioning, I would always advise calling us to discuss your requirements so we can ensure we organise the most suitable room for you. Regarding the menu choices, we are more than willing to prepare simpler dishes on request and I am not sure what went wrong as we do have a Children's menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel earlier this week for two nights and had a wonderful stay.
Beautiful and peaceful location. Room was well appointed and comfortable with an amazing shower. Food was delicious. We found the staff attentive and friendly. The hotel was a delight and we would readily visit again. We did not visit the spa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked one Monday night to celebrate our anniversary, and liked it so much we returned the following weekend. The hotel is well situated, very quiet, near enough to the beach to stay a tolerable temperature in the recent heat wave, and 5 minutes walk from the beach which, on a weekday, was pretty tranquil - pebbles, but when the tide goes out you get a vast expanse of slowly-shelving sand. There is both an outdoor and indoor pool so, despite being full over the weekend, we got plenty of opportunities to swim. (You are allowed to use the spa facilities the whole day of your arrival, even before your room is ready, and to use it for the whole day of your departure, making a 1-night stay quite a reasonable value proposition). We didn't use the gym or spa but they looked OK. Rather charmingly there are various games dotted about the grounds (table football, snooker etc).
The food on our Monday night was very good indeed and justified its price. We are both vegetarian, and it was very flavourful and well presented; wines are excellent and service is good and knowledgeable. Breakfast was generous and quickly served. On the Saturday night the restaurant was full and the food was not quite as special as it was on Monday, though still good.
On our first night we stayed in a Superior contemporary room, which we liked a lot - spacious, wooden floors, clean and modernist. These were sold out for our second stay so we had a Classic in one of the old buildings - acceptable in size and comfortable - while our daughter and her partner had a Standard room which was a little tight and suffered from being located underneath the laundry room which was in use at night.
The service was friendly though at times a little erratic & clumsy. You get the feeling that the hotel aspires to be in the league of somewhere like Chewton Glen and doesn't quite make it: but if you ignore that, it is a very nice place to stay indeed and we will definitely be going back, it being somewhere we can conveniently get to when we need a break.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are much bigger and in quieter, newer building. We liked the "contemporary"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCN6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Took my very elderly mother away and stayed overnight. I had booked the room and told them that I needed a twin room which I was assured would be no problem. WHen we booked the staff were very helpful we were shown to out room which had a double bed - so rejected it and back to reception. The room that was intended for us was still available. It was very clean quite spacious but a bit dark - but probably to be expected in the old style building. There were two small single 4 poster beds. The bathroom was very clean and spacious although there was no soap for the bath or basin - seemed strange.
The area surrounding the hotel and Spa are very nice, well maintained and quiet About a 5 minute walk to Climping Beach - which is deserted - probably because it is pebbbles but nice and quiet with people walking their dogs. Dogs were welcome in the hotel as well.
Dinner was very nice and the staff and food were excellent - the same for Breakfast.
It is expensive to stay at this hotel but if you want peace and quiet it is worth it. The Spa has an indoor and outdoor pool and lots of treatments are available. Again the staff in the Spa were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A beautiful setting for a weekend away with a beautiful spa- indoor and outdoor pool- and delicious food. The waiters are extremely friendly too. An added bonus is the beach is only a 5 minute walk away. The only negative is the size of the spa changing room. It is tiny and can only fit about 5 women at any one time! In addition, not enough sunbeds for guests around the outside pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Climping
14.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
23.8 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
20.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,993 reviews
4.8 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
312 reviews
14.1 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailiffscourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailiffscourt Hotel

Property: Bailiffscourt Hotel
Address: Climping Street, Climping BN17 5RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Climping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailiffscourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Bailiffscourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailiffscourt Hotel Climping, West Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing