We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return trip to Bailiffscourt Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

After going here for my birthday last October we decided to return for my partners birthday this April 2013. We gave Bailiffscourt one of the best reviews I have ever written last time - could they match it this time around? Well the answer is, very nearly :) It was a lot busier on this occasion and thus I guess a much tougher task but they managed every well with just a slight delay for dinner but the food as before is simply superb,and so, is well worth any small wait. The restaurant staff and Chief are top notch as indeed are all the staff and this makes all the difference to one's stay. The grounds are superbly kept and the Spa is just great - lovely swimming pools (inside and out) and tempting sauna and steam rooms. This time Sarah even took advantage of some of the treatments on offer and she had a wonderful experience. The room was spacious with a lovely decor and in very good order, lovely bathroom with walk in shower, a couple of small plumbing issues but nothing to really worry about.
All in all a great stay and we will certainly be back again for another visit :)

Room Tip: Superior contemporary is our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,054)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have just returned to London after a very special weekend break at Baliffscourt. We stayed in a feature Room called Maunsbroke which had its own fire and roll top bath - really beautiful, warm and cosy. The room was not flash so don't expect mod-cons, but everything was charming, old, polished, and individual. We opened the windows every night though as the room did get quite hot, but rather that than freezing cold. The buildings and grounds are charming and quintessentially English - the woods lead down to Climping beach, which was very pretty, especially in the morning sunshine, and practically deserted when we walked it on Saturday morning. The whole setting down a country lane leading to a beach is really really lovely and we felt a million miles away from anywhere. The pool area and spa were lovely and clean (and smelt amazing as they were lit by scented aromatherapy candles), and never too busy, although it is open for children to swim in but only at restricted times. We were lucky that it was sunny so it made swimming in the beautiful outdoor pool and sampling the outdoor hot tub a bit more appealing! The food and drinks were delicious, and the lounge areas were very welcoming with the roaring log fires and cosy sofas and chairs. The staff are friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. Service was a tad slow at times, but it was not a problem at all really as we were so relaxed so didn't mind waiting a little extra time for drinks etc to arrive. We left relaxed, and full of fresh sea air! Thank you Baliffscourt for a great weekend. We hope to return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Despite the freezing weather we had a wonderful family Easter weekend away. On arrival the grounds looked gorgeous covered in a host of golden daffodils, the rooms were delightful and the live fires in the main reception rooms created exactly the right atmosphere given the weather outside. The cold did not stop our party swimming in the outside pool and enjoying the outside hot tub, it just made it even better knowing we could dive into the sauna or use the steam room afterwards. The food was excellent and the staff could not have been more obliging providing us with a round table for my special birthday celebration on Saturday night. Some of our party played tennis and we all enjoyed the fact that we could walk through the hotel grounds directly onto the beach. One of the best things about the hotel is undoubtedly the charm and friendliness of the staff followed by the quirkiness of the hotel design and the luxury of the spa.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroleh255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Having booked Bailiffscourt in the depths of Winter, we were looking forward to enjoying the area in all its Springtime glory... or not. With temperatures soaring to a balmy 2ºc, we arrived wrapped up like Rannulph Fiennes (sans dodgy syrup). Once inside, the welcome from the staff more than made up for the frosty temperature outside. Although built in the 1920's, the hotel has the appearance of a medieval manor house with tapestries, rugs and open fires. We were shown to our room by a very nice receptionist, who even returned with fresh milk for tea. Our room, Arondell, was at the far end of the main hotel building and was beautifully quiet. Although some of the fixtures and fittings are a bit 'shabby-chic' it all adds to its faux 12th century charm.
We had an open fire in our room which was already made up with kindling and even a buffoon like me was able to light it with minimal effort. Logs are supplied and it really added a unique touch (and smell) to the room.
We had booked a meal in the restaurant and it was excellent. Fresh, home-made bread complemented a superb three-course meal with plenty of choice, served by very pleasant staff. One gripe – why do diners think it is somehow impressive to blank the staff? It seems the more monied the customer, the worse their manners. Anyway, the food was outstanding and completed the evening.
Breakfast next day was good with a vast buffet and cooked options. We sat at a table overlooking the grounds and, on a sunny day, was a lovely way to round off our stay. We would love to return in the summer, but maybe we would miss the cosiness of the hotel in Winter.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are very atmospheric. Other rooms are dotted about the grounds, so may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChesterLeStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The setting and staff are what make this hotel so perfect, has to be one of the best retreats in England. We have been four times over the last few years and it feels like home every time we arrive. The food is of the highest and served in wonderful surroundings by excellent staff

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms in the gatehouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This review is for the spa only as I haven't tried the hotel yet.

We went to the spa at the end beginning of March for a relaxing treat - and it did the trick! The setting is very beautiful, quiet and secluded; it feels like you're in the middle of nowhere. As soon as you opened the door you were hit by the most amazing smell - which I later found out was the oil the use in the treatment rooms. Set a relaxed indulgent atmostsphere immediatley. All staff were very warm and welcoming, couldn't do enough to make sure you had the perfect relaxing day.

Facilities were wonderful and very clean, plenty of fresh towels and fresh fluffy robes, they provided slippers, drinking waterand constant supply of fresh tea and coffee in the lounge. The lounge is also where you eat lunch and it was fab. Huge tv for anyone who wanted to watch it, daily newsapapers and lots of magzines, big comfy chairs and sofas. Lunch was good, but would have liked a range of toasted sandwiches/panini's to chose from. The cake was the only thing that let the food down; was clearly cheap shop bought varieties and was pretty nasty.

The only slight negative was the family time. We dont have children yet, and were looking for peace and quiet after a stressful week at work. From about 3.30-4pm families started arriving with young children and relaxation was lost! Luckily the staff had booked us in for treatments from around then so it was only really in the changing room that it became a problem Changing area is very small with only 3 showers. There were little ones everywhere and a lomng wait for a shower. They could do with having either a family chaging room or having larger facilies. This was my only negative from the experience though, so pretty minor.

The treatments themselves were perfect and the staff doing them made us feel very comfortable. I also liked that unlike most spa's (and any other places that do treatments) they did not try and get us to buy the products they were using. I asked what the oil was and was shown it in the book, but there was no pressure to buy. Makes a big difference.

We are intending to go back soon and would definatley recommend it if you fancy a bit of pamering!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonEbay_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked the two day mid week break to enjoy some relaxing time together, the building and grounds are very pretty and well looked after, there are lots of small outbuildings and a beautiful spa with inside and outside pools, hot tub, sauna and steam room. The team are very welcoming and helpful I would consider visiting on my own as I felt very comfortable with the surroundings. The breakfast choice was excellent, nice little touches including hot porridge with a bottle of whiskey if you wanted to add a little to your porridge or coffee. We had the Chef's tasting menu which was perfectly cooked and presented. We booked classic rooms and they were fine for what we wanted, they are connected to the main building by an underground tunnel which adds to the medieval atmosphere. We all enjoyed our break and would return. Robert the manager was very friendly and ensured we were well looked after during our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraceyParmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Climping
23.8 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
14.7 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,152 reviews
20.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,671 reviews
4.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailiffscourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailiffscourt Hotel

Address: Climping Street, Climping BN17 5RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Climping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Price Range: $320 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailiffscourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bailiffscourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailiffscourt Hotel Climping, West Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing