We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Certificate of Excellence
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Ok but.....”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Ths is one of the most difficult reviews I have written, and please be aware that this review is our honest experience based on 2 nights and 3 days, in the Arondell room.

Picture postcard appearance on arrival. Beautiful grounds and a lovely building, considering that it wasn't completed until the 1930's. Very cleverly designed and built, but !

The room was very tatty, carpet was old, and the closet had holes in the carpet. The kettle was supplied with an extention lead which I had to plug in behind the dressing table, so I had to lay on the floor to feed the cable through the legs, as the cable wasn't long enough. The kettle had to stay on the floor to boil, and we had to plug the hair dryer into the extention lead aswell. A health and safety nightmare.

The worst aspect was that the heating either on or off, there are no controls as the heating is in the walls, so we tried to sleep with the windows open, but it was so hot in the room, we were getting around 3 hours a night.

The bedding was sheets and blankets, and a green bed cover was stained, and had either blood or rust staines on it. The shower just didn't work, even though there was a "Quirks" list in the room, but after 20 minutes of running the hot water, it was still only tepid, so we showered in the spa faciliries.

The spa facilities were very good, indoor pool was pleasant, as was the Steam room and sauna. The gym was ok, but one of the treadmills had no lights on it at all, so you had no idea of what program you were on, how fast you were going, infact, no indication of anything, so inherantly dangerous if you need to watch you heart rate.

The food was tasty, but hardly worth the money, and the service was irratic. If you like pictures on plates, this might be the place.

This is a pet friendly hotel, and whilst sat in the lounge areas, one little dog decided to try and attack a bigger dog, so the noise was excessive. The restaurant manager told us that on christmas eve, there were 13 dogs and 10 children booked in, so if you want relaxation and romance, phone first to find out the animal count.

If I wanted to stay in a kennels, I could have found something a lot cheaper than this.

Would never go here again, not even for free.

Room Tip: Ask to find out how many dogs are staying, and see if the room you are staying in has heating contro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HappyHolidays2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    235
    111
    54
    26
See reviews for
178
544
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We really enjoyed our visit to this lovely hotel.
It was a very specia celebration for us, as it was our golden wedding.
We were with all our family including the dog & were made so very welcome in spite of the fact that the hotel was full to capacity as it was just before Christmas.
The bed was the most comfortable in which we have ever slept.
Whole ambience delightful & food excellent

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our stay at this glorious hotel exceeded all high expectations.

The setting could not be better, set in acres of stunning manicured grounds, right next to the quiet stretch of beach at Climping.

The room was as you would hope from a hotel of this high standing, immaculately clean, large with oodles of character. Set in one of the out houses a stones throw away from the main hotel it was quite magical.

I must give special mention to Chris the manager, who is meticulous about detail and made us feel so welcome and took care of our every whim, as well as whim’s we didn’t even know we had!

The food is outstanding both at dinner and breakfast, and the wine list impressive too.

The spa is amazing however I would advise you book any treatments in advance as it was full the whole time we were there, although you can still use the facilities, we loved the outside hot tub and pool.

Thank you to all the team who looked after us so well and gave us many reasons to return

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugarreef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We came for my wife's birthday - a special treat and we brought our children (adults) and grandson. Overall it was a lovely two days with good food, some excellent wines and very friendly and helpful dining room and bar staff. It was not cheap but this was, for us, a one-off so was worth the cost.
The spa and fitness facilities were excellent and their staff were also helpful and friendly.
The main part of the hotel, reception and dining areas, are very warm and we had to take off our pullovers/ jackets to avoid over-heating.
All in all, a wonderful treat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oztrip2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a lovely night nere staying in one of the external buildings with a 4-poster. The place was quiet and peaceful and we had much of the spa area to ourselves. EVerything was clean and all the staff were friendly and helpful. A great location as you can walk through the gardens onto the beach path and go for a paddle in the sea.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We booked the one-might all-inclusive offer for our first stay at Bailiffscourt. It won't be our last. The hotel is very olde worlde in appearance and impeccably groomed. We chose a 'mediaeval style' room and it was very comfortable although the lack of a ceiling light meant it a little mediaeval gloom during the day.
Dinner was scrumptious with an extensive wine list from which to choose. Breakfast was just as tasty and service for both meals was excellent.
We did go for a walk to the "beach" but this is currently a bit of a construction site as the Environment Agency is sorting out some erosion damage. (Tip! In winter, unless you have walking boots, it is wiser to walk there via the road rather than the muddy path to the side of the spa. It's not much further.) As with most beaches along this stretch of the coast, it is stone and shingle but the air is stil as invigorating.
I knocked a star of the rating for "Rooms" as the extractor fan in the well-appointment bathroom wasn't working. It did not spoil our experience at all.
We will definitely go again.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty walking or don't like stairs, make sure you check with the staff where th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmloclam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our first visit here. We were hoping for something special and weren't disappointed. Log fire in our room was an especial treat, food delicious and staff very friendly. Sitting in the outdoor hot tub as the sky darkened and gulls flew overhead was my personal high point - the spa is lovely.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Climping
23.8 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
14.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
14.1 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
4.8 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailiffscourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailiffscourt Hotel

Property: Bailiffscourt Hotel
Address: Climping Street, Climping BN17 5RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Climping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailiffscourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Bailiffscourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailiffscourt Hotel Climping, West Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing