We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed in "Baylies" Suite. Lovely room, with lots of space and homely feel. Bathroom could be better, a few loose tiles and silicon mess joining the two baths, something not expected in a £600 per night room. Other than that, a character, pleasant stay and restaurant was good. Staff could be more attentive and a little less stuffy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dandcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was the third visit we have made in the last year and we will continue to frequent this hotel beacuse it is the best in the area. The setting is enchanting and peaceful and to have use of the lovely Spa is the icing on the cake. We have enjoyed a different room each time and have been upgraded twice. Rooms have old fashioned charm and although the bathrooms are dated they are fine. Beds are always super comfy and pillows soft. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and although sometimes the service is on the slow side for drinks and waiting to go into dinner it is clear that everyone is doing their best to be helpful. We had special dietary requests for dinner on this occasion and the chef was more than happy to assist and our meal was lovely. We also had to check out very early on Monday morning and asked if we could have breakfast in the dining room before it opened at 7.30am and again, chef obliged with lovely smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxed stay in a beautifully quaint hotel with fabulous spa facilities.

Room Tip: Lots of lovely rooms - ask advice from reservations when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princesslexi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the hotel during August to celebrate our 2nd anniversary and only now have we recovered from the experience. It would be churlish to ignore the good things: lovely location, excellent pebble beach, friendly staff...but this does not really compensate for the ludicrous pricing which the hotel imposes.

Our noisy and charmless room was very small and we soon tired of playing 'catch the woodlouse' in the dingey bathroom. Drinks are insanely priced (£4.50 for a small bottle of Stella Artois, £9 for a weak vodka and lemonade) but the restaurant prices are obscene. My partner is a vegetarian and was charged £49 for what amounted to a bowl of soup and a small plate of rice and peas. The cost to the kitchen could not have been more than 75p. This left a very bad taste in the mouth (literally) and effectively ruined our stay. I have no problem with a business trying to make a profit, but this pricing borders on the criminal.

Perhaps it was our mistake to stay during the school holidays, but the whole hotel had the feel of a middle-class Butlins. The hotel cannot be blamed for the inadequate parenting skills of some of the guests, but paying £700 for two nights surrounded by maurading children was very, very disappointing.

The pool is small and was over-crowded during our stay. The steam room was out of order.

We drove down from Derbyshire in the hope of having a magical and memorable stay. I'm sorry to say that the only person who will think of the experience as 'memorable' is my bank manager.

Room Tip: I'd imagine that rooms in the main house are the best. The ones in the cottages are noisy and un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morrissey2782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAlger, General Manager at Bailiffscourt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

I am pleased to say that August was quite a busy month for us and due to our location we do generally see more children and families during the holiday periods. I appreciate that at peak times some areas of the hotel & Spa may suffer from congestion, but given the layout of the house, the four lounges, the Rose garden and Courtyard and general space in the gardens this is not a consistent problem. We do pride ourselves on being efficient, providing a good level of service, and offer good value for money overall. I am confident if you had spoken to us about your issues and concerns at the time we could have resolved them for you. We have 39 rooms spread over 7 different houses, I am sure we would have had a room available that would have been better suited.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My now wife and I stayed in April for a special weekend I asked her to marry me. We stayed in the top suite which was a lovely room in the main building. The hotel is well situated in a lovely part of Sussex, with nice grounds. Spread across multiple buildings and steeped with history.
I previously booked (and then checked on arrival) for the hotel to order champers and roses to the room after we returned to dinner. Upon checking in and entering the room, the roses where already there! Luckily my then pre fiancé didn't click!
The food was quite average, nothing special, pricey for what it is. With the restaurant being busy and with kids running around. Not great for a romantic evening
The spa is relaxing, but quite small and given then hotel was busy we couldn't get any treatments or space to sit & relax by the pool.
Overall, it's a stunning looking place but needs the service reviewing and review of the pricing structure. It seems to live off its reputation not its actual operation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deedidds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Bailiffscourt hotel for 2 nights in September as a last minute booking and a treat after a very long, hard year. Our room was lovely and cosy and quiet, the only noise coming from the peacocks roaming the grounds. Breakfast was good and varied but as with most hotels they still can't get scrambled eggs right. We ate in thew hotel restaurant both nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves although the food wasn't quite as good as the hotel seemed to think it was. Staff were friendly and helpful and in particular the sommellier and the senior waitress were both extremely knowledgeable and personable.

The spa facilities were pretty good although the space in the ladies changing room and general odour of damp could be addressed to make for a better experience.

Generally the best part of the stay was pottering around in the grounds enjoying the last of the summer sun and making use of the various games left out for guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleHavelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice relaxing . Locals don't seem to happy with Londoners With Dogs but I could be wrong.

The Fig Souffle was worth the cost of the whole trip, but need to drop the poor steak and kidney with oyster should not be one the same menu..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Completely underwhelmed. Very disappointing hotel given the cost of dinner bed and breakfast £290 per night. The room was dusty, the furniture tired and scratched or chipped, the rug stained and window shutters dirty. Hairs in shower. Very slow service in restaurant - one hour from ordering starter to getting it and a further 40 minute wait for main course. Breakfast for me was nothing special. Disappointed that bog standard cheap sliced bread served and only one poached egg and two mushrooms served to me. Overrun with children, particularly in the spa, although perhaps this is to be expected as it was half term. Gave feedback to maitre d' and to receptionist, but have had no feedback form hotel as to action taken to correct the above. Would not stay there again or recommend to others. Hotel is living on its past glory and is in desperate need of renovation of rooms and staff training in restaurant.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAlger, General Manager at Bailiffscourt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

I am sorry that your visit to Bailiffscourt did not meet your expectations and from your comments we have certainly appeared to have fallen short of some of the standards we set ourselves. We do have an ongoing maintenance programme in place and the housekeeping team check all arrival rooms on a daily basis, but there are no excuses for such lapses in housekeeping standards.
We usually receive very positive comments about the freshly cooked breakfasts and the buffet selection and our freshly baked bread is delivered to the house every day
During half terms and holidays we are a popular family destination, being only 200 yds from the beach, however we do operate family swim times from 10am-11am and 3.30pm -5pm otherwise it is an adult only facility

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Climping
23.8 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
14.7 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,664 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,136 reviews
4.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailiffscourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailiffscourt Hotel

Address: Climping Street, Climping BN17 5RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Climping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Price Range: $318 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailiffscourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bailiffscourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailiffscourt Hotel Climping, West Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing