We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten free but not promoted”
Review of Bolney Stage

Bolney Stage
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Bolney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Albourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gluten free but not promoted”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Intriguing pub/restaurant... After asking for a gluten free menu/ chart the waiter popped to the chef and requested he highlighted the menu. Why do they not advertise the amount of meals they offer as gluten free as to my surprise there were plenty of options. A simple GF next to each meal would make such a difference.
I had stuffed peppers to start which were horrible. ..my other half ate them...so not bad it didn't go to waste. The main certainly made up for the disappointing starter. We both had the burger, salad and chips which was gorgeous, best burger ive had ( I didn't have the bun) and ive had some pretty good burgers from restaurants lately. Only bad point was the cost. ...very very expensive.
Otherwise service was more than friendly, nice decor and ample parking

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    141
    46
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food and attentive service”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I've been here numerous times before and under different managements, some good and some bad. Having not visited here for a while, I decided to give it a try and must say that I enjoyed a good and unhurried meal. The service was good and attentive, without being excessive and always 'on hand' when needed. I found the portions to be a decent size; (I'm about 95 kg so obviously don't generally eat small portions!), and very well cooked. My only criticism would be that the prices are a bit high and could be viewed as a deterrent by potential return customers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steversa1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Very expensive”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Arriving with a party of nine, and only two cars in the car park , indicates there is something wrong with the place. The pub, never changes but the prices certainly do. Most bottles of wine between £30 or £40, one member of party charged £8 for a average glass of white wine. The food is good but smallish portions and very expensive. It's easy to see why so many pubs are closing, when your trying to charge as a fine dining restaurant but only provide pub food

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank btonboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely pub, nice garden, good parking”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Popped in here on a drive to Brighton, its just off the M23, a little to close as you can hear the traffic if your in the garden, but its better than sitting in Traffic!
Service was good, food was excellent, its a little pricey compared to some gastro pubs, but to be honest the food was a much higher standard than many other pubs ive been to and reviewed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ptholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely old coaching inn”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

One of the old stagecoach stops on the London to Brighton run. Still beautifully old and well restored with real log fire. Good varied menu with something to suit all tastes. But the crowning glory has to go to Emily, Hannah and Charlotte. They gave excellent service, friendly and smiley from the moment we arrived. Thanks girls we had a great evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seadog229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolney Stage also viewed

Bolney, West Sussex
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
 
Cuckfield, West Sussex
 
Lower Beeding, Horsham
Hassocks, West Sussex
 

Been to Bolney Stage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing