We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely way to spend an afternoon!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bolney Wine Estate

Bolney Wine Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
$123.10*
and up
English Wine Tasting Tour to Sussex from London
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Bolney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Our family owned vineyard was established in 1972 and we produce award-winning red, white and sparkling English wine. We recently opened a new visitors centre with an enlarged cafe and retail shop and a fantastic viewing balcony overlooking 18 acres of vines. Why not come along and enjoy breakfast or lunch with friends and sample our wines? You can also book a guided tour & tasting (variety of dates and times available) or perhaps experience one of our popular wine masterclasses on a Saturday? We also run special events throughout the year, including fine-dining evenings and summer evening tours.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
West Sussex
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A lovely way to spend an afternoon!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We've visited Denbies before and knew the Bolney Estate was much smaller, but I have to say we were pleasantly surprised.

Despite its production line being smaller it was considerably bigger than we'd anticipated. We arrived and were shown to a lovely area outside where we sat and sampled the Bolney Bubbly (which we ended up purchasing!).

Before the tour I popped to the loo and I have to agree with another reviewer here re: table layout in the cafe. The room was pretty much empty bar one table of guests who were seated by the loos. This in itself was not a problem but due to the positioning of the table and accompanying chairs I had to either squeeze myself past a dresser of cups and plates or inconvenience the guests at their table by getting them to move their chairs! Not ideal and made me feel like I was ruining their tea by doing so. Sure that's easy enough to solve though!

Our tour guide was a student from Plumpton college who was very knowledgeable and answered all of our silly queries with ease. At times it felt a little like she was trying to dazzle us with her acquired knowledge which she really needn't have done as she was great without that!

The wines were delicious and the cream teas looked lovely (sadly we couldn't stay for them!).

Don't go expecting an enormous estate. Go expecting a small, family run business with kind and helpful staff and you'll love it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VibsHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    44
    14
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fascinating insight into Ed holnglish winemaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

this was a gift experience that was a little bit different. A lovely Summer's day, a small informal group made is a great learning experience. The cream tea consisted of warm scones jam cream and a tea/coffee. just enough, but not plentiful. the winery tour was well informed and interesting. It makes you want to support the further development of English winemaking and its success. The passion of those who gave the talk was evident. The organisation of the event itself probably still needs some work, but the enthusiasm is there. The wine tasting was relaxed and without the usual pomp. I do think that a good marketing campaign would help to promote the Bolney estate as special. So come on Bolney, dont be shy, make the move from amateurs doing a very good job, to the professional promotion of excellence in winemaking! We bought a few bottles, and will definetly spread the word, buy more and share the love!
.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ntheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wine tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Emma our tour guide has a lovely friendly personality and was able to answer most questions posed to her. What was a shame, was she was unable gain access to the winery as the door was locked and she couldn't get the key to work, so we feel a significant part of the tour was denied us. However, the Bolney staff have been excellent to deal with from booking the tour to having coffee in the cafe to the tour itself, a credit to the estate.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 481Graeme_Cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amateurish start to what could have been an excellent experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our cream tea and vineyard visit with tasting was cancelled at very short notice a month ago because of staff illness. When we went to the rebooked date, the young lady who was to be our host and guide, coped very badly with serving the cream tea. There was no milk, she was snappy to the point of rudeness with reasonable requests made by other participants and then she disappeared. Someone from the cafe then appeared and said she had been taken ill and a man would be continuing as our guide. He was knowledgable and led an interesting trip to the vineyard, winery and then led the tasting of four very good wines. He said he was about to retire but his talk was spoilt by intermittent, possible snide, remarks about what our original guide would have said. The wines are great, the setting is enviable and the potential is boundless. This is being spoilt by management and personnel issues which need to be addressed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonNZ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha L, Manager at Bolney Wine Estate, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to the vineyard. Unfortunately the tour guide due to take this tour was feeling unwell and over time was becoming more so. Once management was made aware of this the decision was made to remove the tour guide from the tour and fortunately, at short notice, the previous tour guide was able to take this tour. Employees becoming unwell is out of our control and can cause difficulties and this was resolved as best as possible and we always do our utmost to avoid having to cancel or delay tours on the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wine tasting and cream tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

As a Christmas present for my boyfriend who is interested in different wines I brought a voucher for the vineyard tour and tasting with cream tea. Firstly the cream tea was amazing, the scones were beautifully made and we greedily helped ourselves to seconds and thirds for my boyfriend even though the were huge and filling we wanted more! Moving on ,the wine tour was very interesting for myself who knew nothing about the process and my boyfriend was able to question the guide and she was quite knowledgeable with her answers despite only being a student and stilly studying the process. When it came to the tasting we agreed our favourite was the sparking rosé. And we were intrigued by a sparking red we had never seen before. It was a wonderful day out and we were very lucky with the weather on our side. We would recommend bolney to our friends and family and if we lived closer we would be regulars for cream tea.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolney Wine Estate also viewed

 
Pulborough, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Been to Bolney Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing