We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly wonderful - Patricia made our visit so special”
Review of Bolney Wine Estate

Bolney Wine Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
$128.33*
and up
English Wine Tasting Tour to Sussex from London
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Bolney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Our family owned vineyard was established in 1972 and we produce award-winning red, white and sparkling English wine. We recently opened a new visitors centre with an enlarged cafe and retail shop and a fantastic viewing balcony overlooking 18 acres of vines. Why not come along and enjoy breakfast or lunch with friends and sample our wines? You can also book a guided tour & tasting (variety of dates and times available) or perhaps experience one of our popular wine masterclasses on a Saturday? We also run special events throughout the year, including fine-dining evenings and summer evening tours.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful - Patricia made our visit so special”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We visited the wine estate at Bolney in Sussex on 22nd March, for afternoon tea. The setting is so beautiful and peaceful, and on arrival we were greeted by a delightful lady (Patricia) who took our order, and provided us with some local knowledge and guidance on places of interest. The service was excellent, prompt and courteous. The cakes and snacks we ordered were of the highest quality and Patricia was attentive and demonstrated first class customer service.
Patricia had the most wonderful English accent (almost like Royalty) and when she smiled the room filled with sunshine. We ordered some wine and tea to take back with us and would recommend a visit to anyone coming to the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MC_SB46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    44
    15
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
120 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

A return visit for breakfast this time. It still feels as though you're driving into a farmyard, but I believe they're doing work to update that. The food was excellent, a full English and all very tasty.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Florallle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very disappointing afternoon tea & poor service”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Visited Bolney Wine Estate on March 22nd - just my wife and I. We got this afternoon tea as a Christmas present and was disappointed that someone else spent money on this for us. The place itself wasn't great, the tables aren't laid out great and we were outside the toilet. The service was generally rubbish - there was on young lad who was okay and actually smiled but we were also served by a middle age lady who hadn't smiled in her life! The tea and coffee took about 15 minutes to come and sandwiches didn't have the garnish filling they promised - horseradish, chutney etc. My wife's coffee was cold the carrot cake was the worst we'd ever ate and the scone was poor. The jam was okay. The 2nd cup of tea took longer to arrive than the first by which point we wanted to leave. Other people seemed to be complaining also so not sure this was a one off.

We won't be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice little tour”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Enjoyed an informal and relaxed tour (on a grim grey day). Would have liked the opportunity to sample more as we really were keen to buy - felt a bit fobbed off with 'this is what we taste'. Shame really, for a small investment we would have purchsed more. Not just there to hoover up the smaples!
Lunch was included in the tour and was delicious freshly prepared food. Would like to go back on a lovely Summers day !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tarmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant British Vineyard”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

A lovely little vineyard with Cafe and shop. Tour was fantastic, very knowledgable guide. Tasted five of the local tipples, a really nice lunch and had a free bottle to take home (plus one of each that we tasted!)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolney Wine Estate also viewed

Worthing, West Sussex
 
Ditchling, East Sussex
Pulborough, West Sussex
 

Been to Bolney Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing