We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing experience”
Review of The Ship Inn - CLOSED

The Ship Inn
Price range: $6 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Description: A unique village style pub on the outskirts of Bognor Regis. All our food is home produced from our steak and ale pies to all of our desserts. Food is served monday-saturday 12-3pm and 6-9pm. We serve sunday roasts from 12-6pm every sunday. We have free function room hire for wedding, birthdays, parties etc. Our crab, lobster and fish is landed next to bognor regis pier. Our child play area is currently under construction and is due to be ready for easter. Large decking area for outside eating and drinking. Barbecues and hog roasts will be available during the summer months. Wide selection of real ales. Pool table, dart board and TV for sports are separate from the restaurant.All served with a friendly smile :) We look forward to seeing you soon.
bognor regis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“disappointing experience”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

just ventured back after several months away, heard it was under new owners on the radio, but generally disappointing. very limited menu, worse than before. prawn cocktail was small with only 15 very small tiny prawns. steak was cooked well but tasteless meal on the small side.
the staff seemed very inexperienced not knowing about the menu or what beer was on.
its a real shame as pub has huge catchment area choice of beer poor. will have to go back to walking twice as far and past it to the navigator or the bear in pagham.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great for large groups”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Under 10's Marlow Rugby Club on tour ate here for dinner - 54 adults and children all with clean plates smiling faces. Sean the landlord did us proud - very flexible, great value and good food. Would recommend this pub.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have eaten here four times in the past month. The chef is extremely good and definitely knows how to cook delicious meals at very good prices. Staff are all very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsHoliday55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, UK
Level Contributor
283 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Early dinner for 3 after visiting a relative in area. Have passed by countless time over the years but it was convenient for us to stop here so took a chance.
Was quiet as early but although there were a few things off the menu plenty to choose from. No veggie main meals on menu but 2 available when asked.
Delivery was a little slow but we took this to mean the food was being prepared fresh and properly and we weren't disappointed. Mushroom risotto pleasant if heavy on onions, liver and bacon - generous and tasty, and fish and chips - quite possibly the best presented I've ever seen, you'll have to go so see it! and tasty too.
friendly waitress/bargirl and loved the 'no horse on our menu' sign outside
Good job.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gardengel-IoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Clearly worked hard to change reputation!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We moved to Aldwick 5 years ago when this pub was under different management and were told by thevendors of the property we were buying to avoid it - apparently clientele was wrong and food awful. We have finally tried it now it is under new ownership - wow!! The food is all home cooked and although this time we just had a snack sandwich lunch - the homemade coleslaw and quality of the salad garnish and nice dressing show they know what they're doing. We looked at the evening menu and spoke to the chef/owner. All steaks come from the Goodwood Estate - if the sausages in our excellent sandwich were anything to go by, then the quality of their meat is good! We didn't see the decor before, but it is all now very tasteful. Someone who was having a full lunch chose the fish and chips - they arrived served on a wooden board and looked fab. We will be back and if you have never tried the pub, we recommend you give them achance to show you that they have indeed taken it up several notches! We wish them loads of success - they deserve it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CrocksWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Felpham, Bognor Regis
Bognor Regis, Arun District
 
Bognor Regis, Arun District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing