We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second rate hotel in a posh frock”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel primarily caters for coach parties of senior citizens. While the décor is smart, it feels more like a holiday camp than a decent hotel. Having not paid extra for a sea view, we were given a room that was rather small with one tiny window. The standard of cleanliness was good and the bathroom, obviously new, was lovely. Where this hotel really fails is in the dining room. For one thing it is only open for short time and has a very limited menu. Once again, the décor was of a good standard, but this only highlighted the poor standard of the food. The only item on the limited dinner menu that seemed at all appetising was a chicken dish. We were served a very dry chicken breast with a small amount of white sauce poured over it with three new potatoes each and a handful of tinned vegetables. The lemon sponge desert was a robust lump of sponge smothered in cheap lemon curd with a spoonful of custard. The meal would have been more suited to a works canteen than a hotel restaurant. The service was ok, although the waitress did call my husband 'love' at one point, which I felt was inappropriate. Breakfast was an average cooked breakfast, but the tea was disgusting. They are obviously producing meals en masse for the coach parties and not providing quality individual meals. There were other minor issues e.g the bar manager loudly discussing his staffing problems in the bar and the difficulty getting a drink that was clearly advertised, but on the whole the hotel was ok apart from the restaurant, but we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank betsyhassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 341 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

I have just spent 5 days at the Royal Norfolk Hotel at Bognor Regis,west Sussex as part of a Coaching holiday organised by Alfa Travel.I must say that this hotel exceed my own expectations.I paid a little extra to be accommodated in a bedroom with a seaview.
It was well worth the extra.The Royal Norfolk Hotel is only a few minutes away from the town centre and is situated a few moments away from the beach.
The staff who work here provide a first class and very efficient service,nothing is too much trouble for them.
The food was fantastic and i would defiantly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: My advice is go for a room with a seaview,as the views are fantastic especially in the early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tonybullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I have just spent 4 nights at this hotel with my husband and parents. We were delighted to find the staff were all efficient ,cheerful friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and cleaned to a high standard. Our sea views were well worth paying a bit extra for.
I was concerned about the meals as my Dad's has a poor appetite but there was a very good choice all beautifully cooked and presented and served by a lovely girl.
There was plenty of parking space too.

Room Tip: Book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 54S_jC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I booked a night here for my husband who spent many a happy time here in the late 70's with his Nan. Sad that the heated pool was no longer there and it's car park at the front left of the hotel - but we knew this.
Now looking at reviews I was worried - but I cannot fault the hotel, location or staff.
We had a lovely room overlooking the front garden and sea, yes while just basic it was clean and fresh.
Bathroom more than adequate and a good size.
The staff were very polite and attentive.
Breakfast was nice, waiter service but a choice of starter, and main course breakfast.

It's not a 5* posh hotel in any way but it's slightly dated or may be it's just we go to foreign hotels with marble and bright lights normally. This hotel is like a pair of fav shoes, nice and comfy, lovely for a few nights to relax in SE England right next to the sea!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank LizB114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just returned from a 5 day Alfa trip staying at this hotel. This was our first visit to Bognor and we had a very good driver and lovely trips out. Our room was very clean and was serviced every day with tea and coffee being replenished. Our meals were a little disappointing compared to other Leisureplex hotels. The soups were bland with no taste at all. The gammon which we had on our first evening was dry and had obviously been standing some time. The desserts fared better and the breakfasts were good. Our waitress was very efficient as was all the waiting staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Very pleased with accommodation, Food & entertainment provided as a package by Alfa coach Holidays on a Monday to Friday Booking. The room was clean & well presented and maintained each day to a high standard. The food choices were good on a regular daily menu and the staff were well motivated.

Room Tip: Care needed if stairs are a problem as our room 47 was on the second floor, with access from lift in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My wife and i have just recently stayed at the hotel ( 3-7 march 2014] and i must say it was really good the hotel itself was very smart warm and the staff were most polite and pleasant,under the leadership of Mr Lucas Jans they all made our stay very comfortable room 32 our room was very clean and warm and the seaview was spectacular,food very appertising table staff went out there way to be helpful all you had to do is ask,all the staff across the board gave 100% well done and Thank You, We booked with Alfa Travel who we have used quite a few times and as usual excelled themselves again, a special Thank You to our tour driver Steve who as been our driver on previous tour holidays a most pleasant and polite gentleman ,thank you Alfa and the Royal Norfolk for a splendid week.

Room Tip: a sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jentel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
1.1 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bognor Regis Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
4.5 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,067 reviews
13.2 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Norfolk Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Bognor Regis PO21 2LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Price Range: $87 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Norfolk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Norfolk - Bognor Regis (3 Alpha & AA 3 Star). Situated in a delightfully sunny spot on the sea front with extensive lawns and superb Channel views, this exceptional Georgian building dates from the 1830s and has been visited by the Emperor Napoleon III of France and various descendants of Queen Victoria. It is a short walk from the pier and shops. All 60 bedrooms are centrally heated with private bath or shower and WC, internal telephone, TV, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. There is an attractive cocktail bar, a split level restaurant, a relaxing quiet lounge looking out onto the garden and a ballroom with small dance floor. Lift serves most rooms (some rooms accessed via several stairs). Entertainment is provided most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Norfolk Hotel
The Royal Norfolk Hotel Bognor Regis, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing