We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Things Come in Small Packages !”

Malthouse Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 162 Restaurants in Bognor Regis
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Things Come in Small Packages !”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Tucked in a quiet lane, 100 yards from the beach is this hidden gem. Locally sourced fresh ingredients, family service, and reasonable prices combine to give the customer the complete package. 4 visits this year and on each occassion we have vowed to come back - which we did, and will go back again soon.

Well done Andrew.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    23
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Food and Friendly Faces”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a discovery, at last a local restaurant offering top class food to suit all tastes and sensibly priced. My husband and I rarely go out for a meal because so often we are disappointed and go home thinking 'I could have done that better'. Also other than the pubs and Indians there are no actual restaurants in the village. So when we were invited out with friends this weekend (who use the Malthouse frequently) we had no great expectations. What a lovely surprise, the menu had a fantastic choice, all of which appealed to me. I opted for the Crayfish cocktail starter and then fresh plaice cooked in an amazing sauce. You could really taste the freshness of the fish. All of our party chose different options which were mouthwatering. The only problem we had was clearing our plates as the portion sizes were more than generous. We tried the delicious homemade desserts followed by liquer coffees and finally paid the bill, which after all of the above was extremely reasonable. I can't wait to go back to try another dish.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Chance find”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Having checked out pubs on Trip Advisor, after our lunch we spotted this wonderful restaurant directly over the road from the Fox. The menu looked interesting so we returned for supper. Wonderful food, an excellent wine and delicious puddings on a warm summer evening made the short walk from our hotel worthwhile. Freshly cooked with generous portions,my Scottish salmon with samphire and hollandaise sauce convinced me of the chef's expertise. Give it a try next time you're on the south coast.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coralisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Just had to go back !”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We visited the Malthouse Restaurant back in July and just wanted to go back for more.
Excellent meal that does not disappoint.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Couzensclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nicely refurbished and great home cooked food”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Friendly service, excellent meal and, since the recent refurbishment,the environment is fresh and welcoming. We ate at lunch time choosing liver and bacon which was tender and perfectly cooked,salmon moist with tasty sauce and fresh vegetables.Followed by one dessert of raspberries and port yummy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jiodiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malthouse Restaurant also viewed

 
Bognor Regis, Arun District
Felpham, Bognor Regis
 

Been to Malthouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing