We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I own this restaurant, I would start worrying!”
Review of The Real China - CLOSED

The Real China
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“If I own this restaurant, I would start worrying!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

13 pax aged 8-65 y.o., arrived 2:30pm for late lunch, 15 minutes wait before being ushered to the table even though there were empty tables enough to accommodate 2 dozen terracota warriors. We were advised to have a look if the food would be enough as they won't be re-filling, restaurant closes at 3:30pm. For £5.95 + £2 something for the refillable sodas, we thought we'd have a go .... hunger calls! The young English girl who welcomed us wasn't very welcoming at all, it seems too expensive to smile! We got lost in translation with the young chinese staff but she was pleasant and polite in fairness. Prawn crackers were off, quality of food is average, limited selection of deserts, no thank you's from staff on leaving, they were having their lunch so we don't mind. In short, this will be a once in a lifetime dining experience in this particular restaurant :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMomentHumansBlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    22
    25
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BAD BAD BAD food”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We visited this restaurant for dinner at around 7ish in the evening, thought we would try it as its new so you expect at least fresh food.
It was really really bad - poor food selection, stale chicken wings, stale squid, curries looked as though they were made 2 days ago, some of the food was cold, prawn crakers were off, counters mostly empty and not refilled for at least half an hour, some not refilled at all, even the chips were not fresh. Food was just bad bad bad, the deserts were out of a biscuit selection box just presented on small plates.
For the same money you can go to Harvester next door where the quality is 100% better. Or Nandos opposite.
One of the desert cups had a crack all the way down and we told the waitress so she could check the others we not the same - she was really rude and said "go and get another one" staff really really rude
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY AT THIS restaurant

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaz287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“RUBBISH”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This place is the worst Chinese buffet restaurant I've ever had the misfortune to visit, avoid at all costs.

If this is the Real China, I will certainly not waste my money in visiting the country!

The staff were all unhelpful, uninterested in making our experience a pleasant one and confirmed our opinion that First Impressions were not priority. Once seated we literally had to fend for ourselves as no explanations as to where the drinks dispenser etc just an empty glass was stuck on the table.

In short, the food was not as advertised, where in China do they serve cocktail sausages as a starter and a variety of broken biscuits for desserts served on saucers???
The hot mains were unappetising and needed replenishing, it was tasteless and not very warm. After complaining about the lack of biscuits in the display cabinet, the waitress advised that there would be no more! this was at 8.50pm and the restaurant closed at 10pm!

Needless to say we will be advising family and friends to avoid dining here and not to waste their money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank OnClaudio9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very Nice”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The food was lovely, the waiter was very polite towards me, the drinks came quickly and the lunchtime menu was quite cheap, I would go back there to see what the dinner times are like :) overall: great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dom121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst experience”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

The servive was terrible and the food wasnt up to much.Considering its a new resturant they need to pull there fingers out.The food was below standard wiv no flavour at all. on first appearence it looks clean but the floor is sticky through out. By far the worst place to eat in the new square and we wil not b returnin!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gajitson69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Real China also viewed

West Bromwich, West Midlands
West Bromwich, West Midlands
 
West Bromwich, West Midlands
West Bromwich, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing