We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a waste of money.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Public - CLOSED

The Public
Type:
Attraction details
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a waste of money.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had a stroll around the unattractive interior and an uncomfortable seat in a noisy cafeteria and a poor cup of coffee. That wasn't even cheap. The outside is something else.... There was an exhibition on which we had gone to see - can't remember what it was either.... that says something.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WolverhamptonVideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    4
    5
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So much more than an Art Gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

A lovely building with character that has numerous events for people of all ages. Many of the comedy events there are excellent and well organised. The exhibitions are really good, and feature local alongside well known artists.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ordinary or Extra Ordinary?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I visited The Public on Thursday this week - mainly to see the new exhibitions which had only just gone up. I'm a big fan of Turner Prize nominees and there's quite a lot here (we were travelling to Wales on a holiday and thought this would be an interesting place to stop off). They're amazing and to think that you can find this in a place you'd never expect to find it is really quite the big surprise. The other surprise was that this place is going to become a college. I'd urge everybody to go and see it before that happens. Strange building, strange location but big wow!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenilworth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lack of Focus”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Went to see what the fuss was about and in case it has to close/change function. With a sympathetic viewpoint we were slightly biased in favour but what a disappointment. The building itself is interesting/quirky but there really is not much happening inside. We parked the car for 3 hours but were back inside half an hour.A few touch screens / pictures and not a lot else.
Reasonable cafe prices but we wont be returning, I really think someone has got this very wrong.....sadly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Needs More to Attract Visitors”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Despite the reputation of this attraction, we paid it a visit. On entry the place looks full of interesting things but once you start walking around it soon becomes apparent that this is a largely empty exhibiton with very little of interest on the spiral walkway to the top of the building. On a positive note on the day we visited, there was an exhibition being set up and one of the staff happily escorted us around the new section even though it was very much in the setting up stage. You may manage to kill an hour in here but probably wont have much of a memory of your trip

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Public also viewed

West Bromwich, West Midlands
West Bromwich, West Midlands
 
West Bromwich, West Midlands
West Bromwich, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing