We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just go, you'll wonder where the time went.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Public - CLOSED

The Public
Type:
Attraction details
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just go, you'll wonder where the time went.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I go pretty often. It's free and you can easily spend 3 hours in there. Children and adults alike love it. It's very child friendly, and has great access for push/wheelchairs.
The cafe is decent and they don't mind you taking your own food if it's not too busy.
Go when there is something on and weather permitting, take the short drive to Sandwell Valley, to see any of the attractions.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    4
    5
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Al Murray - Pre Tour Show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Pre tour show -lovely small theatre - very welcoming and efficient staff - very well run. Ideal for small shows.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank williamstina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“all this and a fountain in the toilets too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This place is fantastic and free! It is bizarre and difficult to describe but I can't believe anyone could come away without finding something of interest. I'm not particularlt arty and didn't understand what some of the stuff was, but it was brilliant lots of interactive displays and it all worked, very disabled friendly, wonderful staff. The cafe has a good range of food save room for the raspberry and white chocolate muffins. My children age 7-16 all loved it

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Smu-Palmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smethwick
Level Contributor
142 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“This place is superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Public really has something for everyone. The cafe is pleasant, the live shows are professional and ther's something for the kids too. Yes its had bad press as it was over budget etc but its time to bury the past and enjoy what it has to offer.

What a place ... this could be Sandwell's Robin 2, Starbucks, Kids Zone and B'ham Rep all rolled into one.

With all the other regeneration activity going on in the borough West Bromwich will be THE place to go in a year or so and The Public will be at the heart of it.

See for yourself and enjoy!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just give it a try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Well I wanted a cheap few hours out with 2 of my children ages 3 and 13, and well what I got was so much more! We spent 4 hours there in the end, only leaving because it was closing time! It's firstly a brilliant looking building, my daughter loved the pink glass! Then we were greeted at the door by a fabulous lady who told us all about the place and hoped we had fun
There was so much going on and all laid out in such a way that no one part is ever too crowded, my girls didnt have to wait more than 2 minutes to try anything out! Bonus! I believe the rooms and activities change regularly but what was there last Saturday was amazing, I'm not going to explain every activity, just look at the website! The cafe was friendly and very reasonable, and may I say, the carrot cake was the most delicious I have ever ever tasted!! We willcertai ly be back, sooner rather than later, a free day out! What a rarity! You don't even have to buy food as there s an area inside you can picnic too, brill idea! Knocks spots off think tank in my humble opinion, gift shop is very cheap too with some unusual gifts you can personalise,
I work in. Special school and because of it's accessibility I'll be recommending we take a trip or three!
Christmas activities look fab too, pantomime, father xmas etc! Plus it caters for parties with meals, disco and entertainment so we may well book it up for our works party
Anyway I've gone on enough, just go and see!
May I just say I've never written a Review before so they are truly honoured haha
X

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ebaymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Public also viewed

West Bromwich, West Midlands
West Bromwich, West Midlands
 
West Bromwich, West Midlands
West Bromwich, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing