We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Park Inn like the plague.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in West Bromwich
Reviewed December 5, 2008

Stayed for one night at the weekend, and that was enough. Our room was not as bad as some reviews have reported, but the restaurant was awful. The Park Inn caters for coach parties. Imagine 53 people all arriving to dine at exactly the same time! It was self service and complete chaos. There were at least 3 coach parties in the weekend we stayed. Plates and glasses were dirty, food was very average. Staff were stressed and obviously unable to cope. If you are looking for a relaxing place to stay and enjoy, avoid the Park Inn like the plague.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Custardtrousers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 746 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2008

Hotel is situated on the roundabout of the A41/M5 Junction 1 about 4 miles west of Birmingham city centre and East of West Bromwich Town Centre. This hotel used to be the Moat House up until a few years ago.

The nearest Tram stops on Midland Metro are Kenrick Park or the Hawthorns (the latter is a 15 min trek though), and easy public transport access via routes 74/79 into the centre of Birmingham (roughly 30 mins).

The rooms themselves are on the smallish side, but they have been refurbished. Sony LCD screens on the wall, air conditioning, in room safe, tea and coffee facilities and an ironing board are to be found in the room.

Bathroom is petite but clean with a rainshower. The room itself was fine for a single person, but for two it would feel a bit claustrophobic.

Breakfast was a bit of a miss affair here, not the greatest hotel breakfast I have had, but adequate none the less.

The biggest complaint here is the noise. The hotel being quite large does get used by conferences, and boy can they be noisy waiting in the hallways if you were unlucky enough like I was to get a room next to the main hallway. Another peeve was the housekeeping staff making loads of noise shouting down corridors first thing in the morning. The 11am check out policy is also a bit stingy.

Overall okay its a three star hotel, so it gets three stars!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank outrun78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Spent one night here, as a stopover on the way down south.
Was a nice hotel with friendly staff, clean rooms (if a little small) and nice food.

The hotel supplied a cot for our 15 week old son, which was a travel cot, but it suited our needs fine!

The room was nice, with an LCD tv, with all the freeview channels, and ther bathroom was well equipped....the only downside was lack of bath, meaning we had to bath our baby in the sink!

Food was good, had room service (reasonable prices, lovely bacon burger, but limited choice) and breakfast was VERY nice.

All in all, had a good saty here!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wideboyal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

I have read through the reviews for this hotel and am suprised that noone else has mentioned that this hotel is difficult to locate.

got to the major roundabout and can see the hotel but not what exit to take. you have to take the exit before then come back on yourself and then take a slip raod!
Now it wasnt just me who found this difficult to locate, we had an assessment day and we started 45 minutes later as the candidates got lost also!

The hotel itself was nice, the rooms were decorated lovely, had sony flatscreen tvs, double bed, walk in shower etc. It wasnt the biggest room but as I was only there one night it didnt matter too much.

The carvery was beautiful, I had 2 plates. breakfast is good too, plenty of selection, cooked breakfast or fruit or cereals etc.

I can only rate this hotel on what I saw etc and not based on what I paid as I didnt pay for the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank makeshya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

We have stayed at this hotel quite a few times over the past year.

Most times we have been put in the refurbished part of the hotel which have slightly larger rooms than the other larger block of the hotel.These rooms(rooms310-326 and 410-426) are the best ones to ask for when taking a child with 2 adults as it has a bit more room for the folding bed .
We had to stay in one of the other rooms once,and if this had been our first time at the hotel,we would have been put off going again as it was scruffy & smaller .(These rooms are now being refurbished).
The leisure complex is very good and accessed from the hotel rooms by a maze of corridors.(I dont think we have gone the same route twice!).After signing in at the leisure reception,you are given a FREE towel each to use.The lockers need a returnable £1 coin.
There is a very inviting and decent size pool with a shallower section for children.There is also a spa pool,sauna and steam room.It is nice to watch the wildlife outside via the full length glass windows while having a swim.
The leisure centre also has a good gym .All these facilities are free to hotel guests.
There is ample free parking in the large car park.On match days ,the fans are charged £5 parking fee,so tell the steward you are staying overnight when asked for payment at the barriers!.
The Hotel Bar is now shabby & in need of a complete overhaul.Needs to be made so that you can see around the room & converse easily with others,rather than the bar in one part with a couple of tables,and then tables in the next part which have wooden panels with points etc for laptops.This makes it almost impossible to strike up a conversation with others as you cant see over the panels while sitting.
The staff are all very friendly .The buffet breakfast is good with hot cooked breakfast,cereals,yoghurt,fruit,cheese,toast,danish pastries plus more.Drinks include juices,tea,coffee,chocolate etc. and you can get as much as you want.(they also do room service breakfast but we have never tried this).
We stay often when going to watch a football match.The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the West Bromwich Football Ground and 20 minutes walk to the Metro station.(only costs £4 return to Birmingham for 2 adults & 1 child on metro).
The hotel bar is used by local and away fans before matches and there is always a friendly & lively atmosphere on these occasions!
We would recommend a short stay at this hotel when visiting the area and as it is situated next to the M5 motorway,is easily accessed.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank StaffordJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2007

The bed rooms were very dated, the wall paper badly needs changing and so are the window curtains. I hated every moment of it.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
2  Thank toniStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2007

In fairness this is very much a hotel in two parts, the refurbished area and ‘the rest’. All my experiences were in ‘the rest’ and this currently comprises most of the hotel. I’m struggling to start with just how bad this hotel stay was, but you may get an idea when I say that I spend about 4 nights a month away, with some longer stays in between. In all my years of business travel (which includes a spell in the Former Soviet Union about 18 months after Glasnost) I can’t bring to mind a more dismal, dreary or dirty set of premises.

Background

I’m part of a team working nationally but based in London. The need arose for a meeting of all team members at pretty short notice in a central location. My colleague and I arrived late in the evening by which time the rest of the team had exhausted the options of different rooms etc and we were in a position of no real alternative.


Bedroom

I suppose that walking down into a corridor with a carpet covered in builder’s, dents in plaster work and filthy wall should have gone some way to preparing me for my room. But it didn’t. My room stank- I used half a tin of deodorant to try and make it half pleasant. This spraying also helped me to establish which of the pretty large spiders on the walls needed killing or just tidying up. The wallpaper was dirty- but at least at some point someone had cared enough to cut out the worst patches and replace them with similar paper.

The ‘contiboard’ bath side panel had split with damp over the years and chrome fittings were rusted. I daren’t even look at the state of the mattress but tried sleeping on top of the, admittedly clean, covers until I got too cold and gave in to fatigue.

To cap it all I went to breakfast and on returning to get dressed, despite the fact that I had left my toiletries in the bathroom and clothes out to pack, the room had been made up for the next guest. Thus I had to use their towel to wash my hands after using the facilities,. OK for me but had the previous occupant used my towels????

On the plus side if you like mid 80’s utilitarian hotel furniture you’ll be in heaven.

Public areas

Where do I start? The ripped billiard table or the grimy mirror behind the bar could be signposts to the atmosphere but it was the chairs with so much ground in dirt that the arms have developed that graphite grey sheen that did it for me. Not having had chance to shower before we went out to eat (colleagues arriving later ate at the hotel which they described as dismal but I can’t vouch for that) I was worried that I was smelling a little ripe after a long day but pretty soon realised that it was my chair giving off the unwashed sweaty odour.
On the plus side my lager was cold and relatively cheap- but my colleague had to return her wine glass having found someone else’s lipstick on the rim. Fortunately the bar staff replenished her glass promptly, even placing the dirty glass next to her new one and pouring out the exact amount she had left in it making sure she received exactly the amount she had paid for (and not a single drop more).

Breakfast

By this time I’d decided that the safest option was weetabix (in a sealed packet) and fruit (straight from a tin) with a sealed pot of yoghurt was going to be the safest option. This was probably the right move as the scrambled egg had a thick crust on it.

At least some of the hairs appeared to be fairly new but it wasn’t too hard to find one with graphite grime on if you wanted.


Conference room

As stated above we all knew one another and what we were doing; as such the dirty wallpaper, stained ceilings and grubby carpet weren’t too much of a concern. Had it been a meeting designed to impress potential clients we’d have been stuffed. However it was cheap, central and located near the motorway. As such it fitted the bill.

Staff

This hotel’s greatest asset is its staff. Despite to the amount of complaints they must get a sense of corporate loyalty exists without patronising customers at al. I can’t speak too highly of the reception staff on the night of our arrival. I wish I could recruit staff of their calibre.

In short if price and location are your drivers then it could be for you, if not wait for the refurbishment to finish and, in the meantime, find a Travelodge.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank stan&gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bromwich
Travelodge West Bromwich hotel
#2 of 5 in West Bromwich
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West

Address: Inn by Radisson Birmingham West Birmingham Road, West Bromwich, Sandwell B70 6RS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sandwell > West Bromwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in West Bromwich
Price Range: $52 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant hotel ideal for both business and leisure guests; providing 168 contemporary styled bedrooms with plasma televisions, climate control, WiFi and comfy cotton duvets. Fully equipped gymnasium including a 10 metre indoor heated swimming pool, steam room, sauna and spa bath. RBG Restaurant and Lounge Bar and 17 flexible meeting and function rooms accommodating up to 180 delegates.Ideally located at Junction 1 on the M5 giving easy access to the motorway links of the M5, M6, M40 & M42. Sandwell and Dudley Train Station is a 10 minute walk from the hotel giving direct access to New Street Station. Only 4 miles from Birmingham city centre, the Symphony Hall and International Conference Centre. 7 miles to Walsall and only 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and NEC. Ideally located for exploring: The Bullring Shopping Centre, Cadbury World, Black Country Museum, National Sealife Centre, West Midlands Safari Park, Dudley Zoo, Drayton Manor Theme Park, Alton Towers and more.......... 300 Complimentary parking spaces for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Birmingham West Hotel West Bromwich
Park Inn Birmingham
Park Inn West Bromwich
Birmingham Park Inn
Park Inn Hotel West Bromwich
Park Inn By Radisson Birmingham West West Bromwich, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing