We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet, Comfortable - West Broms' finest!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet, Comfortable - West Broms' finest!”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Booked to stay here on 24th & 25th November to visit family in West Midlands and do some shopping. The hotel is located 5 minutes from junction1 of the M5. The location is fairly suburban on a cut through road to West Bromwich town centre - not that you'll hear much noise.
On arrival the check in with the owner was quick and efficient and there was a huge well lit car park to the rear.

On entering the room it was a little chilly, but soon resolved by turning the raidiator up a notch. We were in the family room - consisted of a double and single bed. The room was a nice size with 2 windows. The decor was neutral/ white with a splash of colour in the form of some very good quality and very tasteful soft furnishings. The beds were comfortable and the quality fo the pillows and bed linen very good. There were plenty of coffee and tea and even biscuits!
The bathroom mirrored the same quality of the bed room and the towels were white and fluffy. The shower was great and the toiletries a really nice touch. The whole room was immaculate.
Breakfast was a continental affair - However this was far better than I had expected. Hot drinks, juice, cereals, toast (the bread is top notch and tastes great), fruit, yoghurts and even cheese, hams and boiled eggs! The service was great and the ladies serving us were extremely helpful.

The restarant is Italian - However we ate in the restaurant on Sunday and took advantage of the traditional Sunday Roast menu. This was really nice and offered a good choice, well cooked and flavoursome. My only regret is not trying the restaurant on Saturday and having the full italian experience.

Great!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    35
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
36
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
walsall
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

needed a couple of days time out from stress and we found it. the bed was like sleeping on feathers with some1 holding ya head as you slept... not too soft or to hard and it was massive. nice and quiet room was comfortable and no stress needed to work all the gadgets.. if there was 1 thing ok 2 things i would change it would be that we needed a shelf in the bathroom and a lamp on the table. but nothing that got us to stressed.. all in all a lovely clean room with staff that were polite.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyjane68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Great hotel but customer service VERY VERY POOR, no telephone manner whats so ever.. when i rang this hotel to make a booking they just said hello i had to ask if this was The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel, also found staff very some timeish one day they would speak then another day would totally ignore you as if you wasn't there...and as for the manager/owner very rude and ignorant. NEEDS MORE TRAINING ON NOW TO SPEAK TO CUSTOMERS PROPERLY.. But other than these few faults its a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millie035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badwell Ash, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Selected this hotel at the last minute and was not disappointed.
The rooms are clean well appointed and for a short break a perfect place.
The hotel alos has an Italian resturant attached which although we did not use was busy so that in itself speaks volumes.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RB2614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We have just had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The rooms were very clean and could not be faulted. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful, and although we did not eat in the restaurant it did look very inviting. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deejay1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Staff treat you like you are something that has dropped of their shoe. It has an italian restaurant attached called Bellagio which is totally overpriced. A truly nasty experience. I would recomend staying and eating elswhere. The only positive thing I can review is that it was clean.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twatt3190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Lovely hotel, staff friendly, rooms very clean. Lovely restaurant attached called bellagio, considering the quality of food and classiness in this restaurant I thought the price was very reasonable. Aubergine starter was a hit and steak with pate was to die for, best meal I've had in a very long time. I would definitely go back and stay here. Meal cost more than the room but oh so worth it. Room £54, meal for two with drinks, £76. Lovely outdoor seating area too for when the sun is out. And good parking too. Nothing to complain about here.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellygraeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bromwich
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Oldbury
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#5 of 7 in Dudley
226 reviews
6.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel

Property: The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel
Address: 58-60 Seagar Street, West Bromwich, Sandwell B71 4AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sandwell > West Bromwich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Bromwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel West Bromwich, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing