We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Indian with an excellent menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saffron Restaurant - CLOSED

Saffron Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $37
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: • AA Rosette • Michelin Guide 2013 • Good Food Guide's Best Regional Restaurant 2011 • CITV Disaster Chef July 2013 • Channel 5 Marco Pierre White's Kitchen Wars in June 2012 • ITV Britain's Best Dish in November 2011 • Channel 4 Iron Chef UK in May 2010. Saffron is an innovative restaurant serving fine Indian cuisine since 2003.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Modern Indian with an excellent menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Although the restaurant sits on a main road and does not look anything from outside the food is exceptional. This is not a curry house and some of the dishes are haute cuisine. Rabbit terrine for example or juicy prawns in a saffron sauce. I was told the owner and chef returned to the UK after working at a top hotel in the Middle East. We ate early with a couple of friends. By the time we came to deserts they were queuing at the door. Half a mile off the M5 it is easily accessible. I don't often rave about a restaurant but this is the exception.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Passepartout1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    43
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Level Contributor
106 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good food. Good service. Good value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We are occasional visitors to Saffron and it is usually pretty good; tonight's visit was one of our best yet. The pace of service was spot-on, the food delicious and value for money very good. The portion sizes are quite generous and we did over-order slightly. It was sad to see the fantastic nan bread going back at the end of the meal, simply because we were too full to eat it! We are looking forward to our next visit to Saffron.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Old_StagerStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“another amazing meal...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

we have just returned to the saffron restaurant and again couldn't fault anything
the staff and the food...one word-----amazing
will be back soon

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevej4461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food and outstaning service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I took fifteen friends to Saffrons to celebrate a birthday. Each and every individual was delighted by the food. It was stunning! The range of dishes was exceedingly extensive, and each dish was prepared and served with the utmost care and attention to detail.
Each plate looked stunning and the whole party was very impressed.
None of us had ever been to the restaurant before, but we had heard that it was good.
We were certainly not disappointed. The meal I had was the best I have had in years.
Many of my friends made the same sort of comment.
The staff could not have been more efficient and they were very friendly and helpful.
The bill at the end of the evening was certaily a surprise. It was real value for money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkeithing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A really nice surprise in a generally non-descript area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We visited here for a business dinner recently. I made reservations as there were 7 of us however on arrival, there were only 2 other diners - not an encouraging start. We were seated at a nice table and offered menus. The choice is very unusual - not the normal Indian fare. We had popadoms to share and ordered a starter and main each with nann and rice to share round the table. The scallops were delicious and I heard similar great reviews for the salmon, rabbit and shish kebabs. Mains were served individually as they are really a 1 portion meal - not really a sharing experience like many Indians. The duck was delicious and the group all said the meals were very nice. Prices were very reasonable, the menu interesting and service good although slightly slow. I am pleased to say the restaurant became much busier around 8pm and there were a number of Indian diners which is always a good start. A very good little restaurant and definitely worth a return visit the next time I am in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Restaurant also viewed

Oldbury, West Midlands
Oldbury, West Midlands
 
Oldbury, West Midlands
Castle Bromwich, West Midlands
 
Oldbury, West Midlands
Oldbury, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing