We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post-match meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Court of Requests

Court of Requests
Ranked #8 of 65 Restaurants in Oldbury
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Anya and the team welcome you to The Court of Request's Official Trip Advisor page. The Court of Request's is a family pub located in the heart of the Black Country. Since opening in January 2012 the pub has gone on to become a staple part of Oldbury. The surroundings are both modern and traditional, with an aim to fit into the historic value the building has. Before life as a pub began, the building had been built in 1816 as a court. This is a running theme throughout the pub.... We are very proud to boast a wide range of both food and drinks as well as fantastic and friendly team of staff. We are also available for to take bookings for meetings, birthdays and other events. So whether its a family occasion, a business meeting, or even just a quick coffee after 'the big shop' we are more than welcoming, and look forward to seeing you!
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
388 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Post-match meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

New Years Day, first match of the season. Albion throw it away at home. Ho hum. Nevermind, off to the Court of Requests for tea. Table for 10 booked in advance, but oddly it wasn't heaving as I'd have expected - still, better safe than sorry.

As always, from ordering at the bar to food arriving was less than 20 minutes, with all food hot, fresh and tasty, barely a morsel left between us.

Good selection of lagers, ciders and ales - annoyingly with my first choice running out mid-pint! Nevermind, second choice was available.

I've said it in other reviews for this pub, it is THE best Wetherspoons I've seen.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dramill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    66
    20
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quirky but nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Decent food, great beer, good service in interesting surroundings: an old courthouse with Masonic undertones. I would certainly go again to what I think is one of the best pubs in Oldbury.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BracemanBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Turkey a little tough? No problem sir.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We ate the Christmas meal at the Court of Requests in early December. My Turkey was very tough so I asked for it to be replaced which was done with the minimum of fuss. We went on a Wednesday evening so the pub was not very busy, however our friends said it is very busy on Thursday and Friday evenings and Sunday lunchtime. As a heritage fan it is very well done with quirky interesting features like the photo of the very first armoured tank factory which was situated in Oldbury and nice Masonic features, such as the chairs and the chequered flooring inspired by the buildings former role as a courthouse . Loved the variety of beers and the Highgate Mild was lovely, more like a stout than a mild in its consistency. All in all decent food with good service in an interesting place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BracemanBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I travel to many Towns in the West Midlands & when eating out i always check where a Wetherspoons is situated. A wide choice of food is avaiable & is always excellent in any of their restaurants. The service is first class & as a pensioner i look for good value for money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brantbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smethwick
Level Contributor
152 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Not exactly a place you'd go for a romantic meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This place has been built with one thing in mind ... to get the punters from across the road at the council to come in during the day and spend a bit. This means meetings, business lunches, breakfast runs etc. That's all fine but the layout and general atmosphere is noisy when busy and tables are quite close together so you do feel on top of one another. Put is like this I wouldn't take my better half for a romantic meal.

Meals adequate and the service is pretty good with care taken etc.

Its a Wetherspoons so they do what they say on the tin so to speak.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elvis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Court of Requests also viewed

Oldbury, West Midlands
Oldbury, West Midlands
 
Oldbury, West Midlands
 
Oldbury, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to Court of Requests? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing